Unbalanced logo

Beard soars to first victory

Cincinnati sophomore makes winning adjustments

By Winners OnlyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Taylor Beard

Usually the Jim Green Invitational and Rodney McCravy Memorial meets are two separate events but because of the crazy times of a global pandemic due to COVID-19 we are fortunate to be having an indoor track season at all.

On Jan. 15, Cincinnati high jumper Taylor Beard returned to the University of Kentucky just about a year after competing for the first time as a freshman in the Jim Green Invitational. Things were a lot different on Jan. 10, 2020. Fans were in the stands. Nobody anywhere had a mask covering their faces and COVID-19 was barely on anybody's mind in the United States.

This year the McCravy-Green Invitational is taking place in an indoor track stadium with no spectators. All athletes, coaches, media members and staff of the facility are masked up. Another thing that changed is Taylor Beard's result. She went from a ninth place finish in 2020 to winning the high jump this weekend.

Beard jumped a career best 1.79 (five-feet-10 and 1/2 inches). She beat a field of eight competitors including runner-up Annika Williams and Carly Hinkle, both from Kentucky and both placed ahead of her last season.

After her victory, Beard took some time to reflect on her first collegiate win and the impact that the COVID-19 era has made on her career.

Winners Only: First off, congratulations on your first collegiate win. How gratifying was it?

Taylor Beard: After a horrible freshman season and a long time off due to COVID, it was very rewarding to see my hard work pay off!

Last year you were in this meet. The talent pool was deeper but your jump this year would have won last year's meet. What went right this year that didn't go so right last season?

Last year I was also considered a [multi-event] performer. I was over worked and my body was tired. Also, I was almost 20 pounds heavier. I figured out the "freshmen 15" was a real thing. I dropped weight and I worked on taking care of my body.

You finished behind the two jumpers that you beat today from Kentucky. Was that in your mind at all and is it fun to defeat competitors on their home track?

I usually do not worry about my competitors or their successes. I knew what I was capable of doing and just had fun with competing against myself!

While it was strange to be at a meet with no spectators, track athletes seem to not have to rely on the crowd as much as football or basketball players. How was it performing in with no audience?

Performing with no audience is definitely strange! I think for me, it was so much easier to focus on what I had to do. With an audience I tend to get lost in the commotion but it was actually nice to hear myself think!

[On the other hand] it is nice to have audience feedback to drive you!

Is this your first interview as a collegiate athlete?

Yes sir it is!!

Are you having fun?

Yes it’s very cool! It’s been awhile since I’ve been interviewed.

Ok thought I'd have a light moment. Back to the serious stuff. How has COVID-19 effected your college career for better and for worse. Have you learned anything about yourself as a person and athlete?

I think the pandemic helped me in certain aspects. Last year I was in a rough place mentally. [During the pandemic] I got to sit down with myself and better my mental health. I also got to go back to how I trained in high school. I really benefit with light training and more plyometrics. The whole time I've been able to really work on myself and strengthen weak areas that I’ve had.

What's your ultimate goal for the season?

My goal this season is to be consistent. I want to make all of my bars the first time and I want to be confident in my approach.

How confident were you today?

I had a great amount of confidence but I still lack confidence in my take off position which cost me heights I know I can clear.

Let me say it was really cool to see you start at this meet as a freshman last season and grow up mentally and physically over the next year and win it. I could see something in you last year that showed this was possible.

Thank you so much! I remember you saying that I was [an athlete] to watch out for and I truly appreciate [that]. I also am so grateful you capture moments for us women athletes!

It's an honor and inspirational to cover you all. Thanks so much for your time. Are you competing tomorrow or are you all done? If so what will you do to pass the time?

I’m all done for the week! Everyone who doesn’t compete tomorrow has to stay behind! So I will be recovering and resting!

Cool. I will be watching for the rest of the season. See you somewhere around the nation later this year!

Hopefully, see you soon! Again thank you for taking the time to interview me.

culture
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.