Unbalanced logo

A famous saying by a former football coach

George Halas who was a former football coach with the Chicago Bears was a very wise man.

By George B VietoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
A saying from the late Papa Bear

Even though I did not see any football games on television in the former Canal Zone in Panama until around 1972, I will come to admit that I never heard of the late George S. Halas who was nicknamed Papa Bear since he was the former football coach of the Chicago Bears/Decatur Staleys of the National Football League (NFL) since my interest in watching both the NFL and college football on the Southern Command Network (SCN) was not on my top priority list at the time.

My interest in watching sports on television was watching Major League Baseball (MLB) on both the Spanish speaking television stations and on the English speaking station SCN on Saturday with the Game Of The Week and Monday Night Baseball on Monday.

Most of my classmates who attending junior high school and high school did read the sayings of former NFL coach the late Vince Lombardi who was known for his tough love approach to his players who in that era were not huge salaries that they do in our current time would show me some of Lombardi's sayings but never Papa Bear's famous quotes.

One reason I enjoy using the internet is to learn the secrets of success from sports coaches who are either deceased or alive as of this writing.

The quote of the late Papa Bear hits me a lot in a positive way since if I did not enjoy taking surveys and writing good news stories on a discussion site then my life would be empty so to speak.

There are stories of many sports stars who wanted to quit playing the sports that they earning a living when they started playing baseball in the Major Leagues or other sports in America as rookies and they found out that it was hard at first to play at an excellent level at first.

Thanks to the advice of either their coach or a relative, the sports star learned that if they want to be the best in their profession, work on learning the game, work hard in the gym, stay safe and grateful to earn a living in the sports arena in which many of us only dream about.

In my case I am working on being a good news writer who is willing to pay my dues to make my dreams of earning a living enjoying what I do a reality.

Quitting just because of self doubt and pity since I am a young person following my passions will not assist me to make my dreams come true for myself.

What makes me wonder is if coaches like the late George Halas, Vince Lombardi and the late Tom Landry who were known as football coaches who had the rule of "My way or hit the highway" form of coaching would be able to succeed today since in the era when they coaching in the National Football League there was no free agency where the football player could leave his current football team to play for either a playoff contender or a team that would pay them their market value in their sport.

It is evident today that a sports coach is supposed to be a mild mannered person instead of a drill sergeant.

What I do remember of former football coaches who played under the leadership of the late Papa Bear was that if you were a faithful soldier who can handle his coaching style of molding football players into persons of great character as older males.

Words of wisdom do possess a lot of power since the truth is stranger than fiction or fairy tales.

The old saying is true that tough times can make us better persons or break us into pieces since there are some work ideas that are tougher than hitting Iron Man's suit with a bare hand. The results of hitting the tin suit of Iron Man can be a major disaster.

football
1

About the Creator

George B Vieto

A native of Ancon Panama who enjoys bowling, women gymnastics and classic cartoons as well as classic cartoons.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.