Trader logo

What I learned from submitting to a publication that pays $50 to $300 per article

Is the grass really green? A phone, a notebook, and a laptop on a wooden table with water next to it.

By CiprianPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Photo by Bram Naus of Unsplash

Three weeks ago, I went into hibernation for creators.

Basically, I took a break from social media and cleared the list of what to do and what not to do.

The truth is that I'm happy with my current routine and don't like freelance.

But lately, I'm curious about how much I can sell my product in the open market. It is human nature to look at the greenery of others through the fence, so I thought, "Why don't you try it?"

This is what I learned (and gained) from submitting to high-value publications.

99.76% of writers want to make money from online writing

Or at least know what they have to do.

One of the big challenges in life is balancing passion and invoice payments. Therefore, people who are passionate about writing will love nothing but pay for it.

I don't like being a freelancer, but I'm not a stranger.

I have written over 150 articles about Fiverr. And although we have valuable experience, we have no plans to return to the platform soon.

I love the freedom and unlimited revenue potential that Medium offers.

But I was curious to see many medium writers talking about making $ 50, $ 100, and $ 200 per article.

How much can I earn if I sell items in bulk?

So during my creative break, I decided to listen to the gurus and see what the internet had to offer. I submitted articles to these 5 paid publications

A page is full of authors screaming your attention with catchy headlines and images-all with top-notch advice.

However, the spiritual scope is so wide that it is difficult to know where to pay attention.

After receiving the advice of a popular (dead end) medium writer, I decided to investigate myself.

I found a collection of active sites that pay $ 50- $ 300 (USD) per item. After reading what felt like millions of submission guidelines, I finally decided to submit to these five publications.

YR Media: Pay $ 100 $ 150 for each post

#FitnessGoals: Pay $ 50 for articles in 700-800 words

Inspire The Mind: Pay $ 100 for every 1,200 Word Article

Lively Life: Pay $ 100- $ 300 for every article in 600-700 words

Breakdown UK: Pay $ 85 for every 700-800 word article

I was doing some kind of experiment and wanted to keep the variables consistent. So I proposed the same story draft for all five sites.

1. It was timeconsuming

The first few submissions I sent out took forever to write — it felt like I was applying for a fulltime job.

Many of the publications wanted links to my Twitter profile, portfolio, and multiple headline pitches. Some had lengthy Google forms to fill out as well.

2. Some sites only wanted to sell

During my research, I noticed that many publications only want to sell. There are no ready-made articles.

It was easy because I had already written the story. But that made me think about my writing process. Aspects of my story often change as I write-especially headlines. I could suggest an idea and imagine feeling trapped when it was accepted.

3. It took less than 5 days to receive the reply

Submission guidelines indicate that all publications require authors to receive feedback within 3-5 business days.

Three weeks later, only one of the five publications responded with a gentle "no thanks."

personal finance
Like

About the Creator

Ciprian

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Ciprian is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.