Trader logo

The Envelope Method And Growing Your Own Food

Two Simple And Effective Ways To Build Your Financial Reserve

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 8 months ago 5 min read
1
Harvesting From Our Small Farm In Cambodia (Photo by Freddie's Lost Treasures)

Saving money can be hard, especially when you have bills to pay, debts to clear, and expenses to cover. You might think that you don't have enough income to save, or that you need to invest in some complicated financial products to grow your wealth. But what if I told you that there is a simple and effective way to build your financial reserve, and all you need is an envelope?

That's right, an envelope or a jar, or a box, or any container that can hold cash. The idea is simple: every day, you put some money in the envelope, and you don't touch it until you need it for an emergency or a big purchase. You can start with any amount that suits your budget, but the key is to be consistent and disciplined.

I learned this method when I graduated from college and started working with my father before his untimely passing. I didn't earn much, but I wanted to save some money for the future, but I didn't know how. I tried opening a savings account, but I always ended up withdrawing money for unnecessary things. I tried using websites that promised to help me save, but they were too complicated and confusing.

Then I read an article about the envelope method, and I decided to give it a try. I bought a big white envelope and wrote "Savings" on it. I decided to save $6.25 per day, which was about 5% of my income. Every morning, before I left for work, I would put a $5bill, $1 bill and one quarter in the envelope. I would not count it until the end of the month, when I would count how much I had saved. As a bonus, I occasionally put in an extra $6.25 in the envelope.

The first month, I was amazed to see that I had saved $187.50. That was more than I had ever saved in my life. I felt proud and motivated to continue. The next month, I saved $200. The month after that, $212.50. By the end of the year, I had saved over $2,500.

I was so happy with my progress that I decided to increase my daily saving amount to $10. I also switched from using an envelope to using a small wooden box that had a lock and a key. This made it harder for me to access my money and tempted me less to spend it. I continued this habit for another year, and by then I had saved $5,000.

I realized that the envelope method was not only simple and effective, but also flexible and adaptable. You can adjust the amount you save according to your income and goals. You can use any container that works for you. You can also have multiple envelopes or boxes for different purposes, such as travel, education, or retirement.

The envelope method also taught me some valuable lessons about money management. It made me more aware of my spending habits and helped me cut down on unnecessary expenses. It made me appreciate the value of money and the power of compound interest. It made me more confident and secure about my financial future.

Of course, the envelope method is not perfect. It does not protect your money from inflation or theft. It does not earn you any interest or dividends. It does not diversify your portfolio or reduce your risk. That's why I recommend using the envelope method as a part of your overall financial plan, not as the only one.

You should still have a bank account for your regular income and expenses. You should still invest some of your money in other assets that can generate returns and grow your wealth over time. You should still have insurance and other forms of protection for your health and property.

But if you are looking for a simple and effective way to build your financial reserve, then the envelope method is worth trying. It has worked for me for years, and it can work for you too.

Another way to save money is to grow your own food. This can help you reduce your grocery bills and eat healthier at the same time. You don't need a lot of space or equipment to start a garden. You can use pots, containers, or even window boxes to grow herbs, vegetables, fruits, or flowers.

Growing your own food can also be fun and rewarding. You can enjoy the process of planting, watering, harvesting, and cooking your own produce. You can share your bounty with your family and friends. You can also learn new skills and hobbies along the way.

Growing your own food can also help you save the environment by reducing your carbon footprint and waste production. You can use organic methods and composting to avoid pesticides and fertilizers that can harm the soil and water quality. You can also reuse or recycle your food scraps and packaging materials to reduce your waste production. You can also donate or sell your excess food to your neighbors or local markets.

Growing your own food can be a great way to save money and improve your quality of life. It can also complement the envelope method by helping you save more money and spend less on groceries. You can use the money you save to put in your envelope or box, or to invest in other ways.

۞۞۞۞۞

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today.

You now have the opportunity to buy me a cup of coffee or a hot, fresh pizza by clicking on FREDDIE'S LOST TREASURES below. Our monies collected on Vocal.media help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

I have plenty of upcoming articles on various topics, please check them out. Also, if you would be so kind, subscribe, give us a heart/like and positive comment. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges on Vocal are greatly appreciated. Help those who are less fortunate and make a difference!

advice
1

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.