Trader logo

Receipt Hog - An App That Gives Back

Nothing complicated about getting money back

By Hope MartinPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
2

I enjoy earning cash back on my purchases. I enjoy it enough that I upload almost every receipt into an app on my phone that rewards me for spending my fiancée’s hard earned money. Or rewards me when he spoils me and the kids. It's pretty awesome.

Receipt hot is very simple. There's not a lot involved like there is with some cashback apps. I don't have a lot of time during the day, and sometimes taking 30 seconds to snap a picture of a $5 receipt can even seem taxing. So, to just have a simple cashback receipt scanning app is just enough.

But they do have extra bells and whistles. For example, you can link your accounts, including online shopping accounts for somethings to be done automatically. For example, amazon receipts automatically upload on mine. You can hook up your Lowes, Google, Home Depot and several other large shopping retail giants, and those receipts get uploaded straight to the app so you don't have to scan those.

You also get entered into sweepstake drawings with every receipt, even receipt that doesn't go towards getting cashback. You can also get spins, where you can earn extra coins (that counts for getting cashback) or even shopping sprees where you get coins equal to your tendered amount on your biggest receipt for the last month or something like that.

So, how it works is every time you get a receipt (or a receipt is pulled from a linked account) you earn coins and sweepstake tickets. The amount of coins you get from your receipt depends on the amount you spent. You will never get more than 20 coins at a time, and that happens if you have spent around $100.00.

You can earn about 400 coins per month, as you can only earn 100 per week. I sit on the edge of neutral about this limit, but I also don't ever spend enough to ever reach the cap so it hasn't affected me. I love this because, I get my money from writing for the most part. And as most of you are fellow writers reading this, you know that doesn't always provide for all the bills.

I like to save it up. This year I have decided i'm going to either use it for Sky's pageant if we're a bit broke at the time in November, OR! Christmas! I hate doing that though, because I usually like to have my Christmas shopping done by September.

You can cash out either using prepaid visa email links, paypal or they can send you an amazon gift card directly! So for those of you that don't have a receipt app that gives you cash back for every purchase, I highly recommend it. I have my referral link down below! .

Receipt Hog pays you to upload receipts, take surveys, and more! Download on apple or android devices and enter code tif71319 to earn a special bonus when you upload your first receipt.

Disclaimer: my code will benefit me too by giving me hog coins!

My 5-year-old daughter is competing in Nationals at the All American Miss Pageant in Orlando Fl, during Thanksgiving Week this year. It is being hosted with National American Miss. We are trying to raise money for hotel costs, her casual modeling outfit, her formal gown, and to submit her portfolio in a Photogenic. All money I make off of Vocal will be going straight to her Pageant.

If you are inspired by my “amazing” writing (haha!) to donate to Aylaina-Sky's pageant, please tip this story! Every dollar helps!

economyproduct reviewpersonal financeadvice
2

About the Creator

Hope Martin

I am a published author of a book called Memoirs of the In-Between. I am doing a rewrite of it, as it needed some polishing. I am a mom, a cook, a homesteader, and a second-generation shaman.

Find me on Medium also!

@kaseyhopemartin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I used something similar for a while, and it wasn't too bad! I might try this out! I'm excited for your little one to do that pageant!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.