Trader logo

META Was a Mistake and So Is Existing

My Financial Woes Continue

By Hamish MacCollPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
This was before El Salvador's President decided to bankrupt his country

Oh God investing in META was a mistake.

Anyone whose read my previous posts will understand what I’m talking about. I began, a year and a half a go with a goal of a diverse portfolio focused upon dividend investments. QYLD and the like.

That changed when META’s stock crashed. I theorised that it’d go back up, and I’d just been paid, what could go wrong?

A lot, is the answer to my stupendously idiotic question.

Now, this isn’t so bad, to be honest. This is money I accepted I could lose, I’d either gain a small amount of money, or lose a lot.

Wow that sounds like such a shitty plan.

And it was, but at the very least I accepted that investing is a risk and it was one I wanted to take.

I’ve learned. I am impatient, and terrible with money. But I am aware of the errors and how to change them for the future.

I believe it is time to cut my losses. My META investment value currently stands at $329.73USD, with me having sold off $89.62 worth of a share on the 27th of May, 2022.

My total returns for META are - $144.44 currently. -25.64%

This is Hell.

As a receptionist I’m not exactly swimming in cash, but my monkey brain didn’t really care when I decided I was willing to lose this money. God, I should have just become a drug dealer, at least that would have been profitable.

Damn you Upper Middle-Class parents telling me to go to university and get a degree.

The Markets Are Crashing

Currently everyone is terrified because the markets are crashing. Bitcoin is crashing. El Salvador’s President wasted something absurd like half of El Salvador’s taxes buying bitcoin, claiming it would get the country out of their dire financial straits.

I, I am also concerned. Mostly because seeing the small amount of money I saved and invested dwindle away is not… fantastic. My father and a few friends are raving about how I should invest in BBUS. BBUS is a stock that “protects against the downfall of the US Stock Market”. When the S&P500 fails and loses money, BBUS gains money. Fantastic for recessions if you want to make money off of people losing their livelihood.

But, you know what? I may just put in $100. Just to see what happens. Sure, I’ll probably lose that, and my META money in some freak concoction of me panicking and the market suddenly making a U-turn and rising. But, that’s what I’m all about. Failure.

Christ.

I often feel as if there isn’t really a way to win. You hear about Pyramid Schemes and people talking about “getting out of the rat race”, I often feel as if there is very little that can be done to actually achieve this goal. Unless you’re born absurdly rich, is there really anyway of reaching financial independence anymore?

The pessimist in me says I’ll be poor forever. And it’s probably right.

But, I feel like that little spark of hope is important. Without the absurd notion that I may one day make it and succeed, I’d have no motivation to ever try at all. And if I never tried at all, I’d certainly never succeed. I’d lose myself in being a receptionist for eternity, or finally getting my degree and getting some job with that and working a 9-5 until I died.

I do not desire that future.

Preferably, I make money writing and finally get the motivation to do some writing again. I use that to make more money through another passion, investing. However, reaching that point seems unattainable.

I have hope I’ll reach that point, but I don’t believe that I can. And every time I write something like this, it is with the hope that my belief is incorrect.

So, go on world.

Prove me wrong.

Thanks for reading and kind regards from New Zealand’s True Capital,

Hamish

stocks
Like

About the Creator

Hamish MacColl

I'm attempting t find financial success in a world that is horrifically geared towards being financially destitute for the vast majority of people. Wish me luck!

You can find me over at: https://hamishmaccoll.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.