The Swamp logo

When the truth comes out

Hard four years

By Blanca RodriguezPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

This year has been a world wind ! From the weather and seasons not matching up , to the deaths and the illnesses that we have experiences and seen first hand . To the light that was shined on many people this past year and how they really feel about people like me. I am a melting pot of cultures and I’ve always been proud of that. Latina,Black and Asian as well as Native American. I carry in my blood the stories of many colorful cultures and traditions. I was raised to be proud!

However this year I’ve felt like being a Minority has become something people look down on. Like the past has nothing to do with our future and facts have been replaced with lies. I have always been proud of my culture and how I look or sound just a bit different from people around me. I relish the stories my father and grandfathers have told me about coming to America and their lives here vs there . However the last Four years have been crazy. From the hate and the light that was so blatantly turned on. Showing people for who they really are. How so much hate can be expected and become the norm . Down to needles deaths and hate crimes.

Being overlooked and prejudge for your bloodline but not for who you are as a human being. I can’t really grasp the concept of someone thinking I am a certain way because of my race or where my family comes from. I am so saddened by the media only choosing to tell the bad but none of the amazing things people did! Their protest and their petitions and their drive to change the world into something better. While I’m proud that we can come together and stand together and fight for what’s right I am very disappointed that we have to.

I’ve always been proud but I’ve always had to fight . I’ve always had to explain or deal with uneducated people who thinks it okay to touch my hair because it’s so curly and say things that are just a bit over the line . I’ve always been a fighter but after thirty fucking years you kind of wonder why we are still fighting the same fights . When is it going to be the norm to not have straight hair blue eyes etc. when it will but be that I have curls and not kinky girls like “black people.” Yes I’ve had that said to me because I am light no one things I’m black. So they think it’s okay to say the crazy racist stuff they say. When does that stop being the norm ? I feel like in the pass year shit has gotten worse and I see that we all have been fighting more for our rights and some of our lives . It’s crazy to think that I call a place home that technically doesn’t 100% even want me . Sometimes I get tired of all this crap but as insane as it is . If we do not stand up for ourselves no one else will.

opinion
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.