The Swamp logo

What Is Happening to Our Country?

These are my opinions only and are not affiliated with anyone else's.

By Nalana PhillipsPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I will admit I am not a very political person. I believe all people who run for office are crooked. They only run for power and political gain.

There isn't a single one that runs for office because they want to truly help the people below them.

I believe they are even more so now.

I sit here day after day, watching the news and all it is BS and I wonder! What has happened to this country?

The government is shut down to build a wall that they are just going to tunnel under anyways. People in lower classes are not getting their food stamps to help feed their families.

I laugh for all the people who voted for this president because they are also the people who are on welfare and thought he was going to make this country great!

I bet they are not thinking that way anymore.

If our forefathers could come back and see the state of our country, I really think they would be disappointed in us.

This is not what they envisioned when they looked to the future.

Having someone like Trump on the throne is most likely making every one of them spin in their graves.

This was once the Land of the Free and Home of the Brave. We were given the Statue of Liberty to welcome the poor, tired, and hungry. Not for her to hold up a sign that says "no more vacancy, get out!"

Where did everything go wrong?

Don't people see that history is repeating itself? We are one step away from another Hitler! And I don't think anyone wants that!

I know I don't.

I watch all these people on talk shows complain about what is happening, and I hear the everyday people around me whine about how unfair things are.

But yet, I see nothing being done about it. I see no one really pushing for something different.

Nothing can be changed if no one does anything.

I personally don't plan to stick around much longer to find out.

I have a dream, and I am sticking to it.

However, if everyone wants to make this country greater, elect better officials.

A wall isn't going to fix it. It isn't outside sources that's the problem.

The problem is inside and all around us. We have to fix everything in our neighbors first before we look to outside sources to blame.

Don't let political propaganda fool you. No one person is at fault for the decline of this country.

Everyone is to blame in all honesty!

Has anyone ever seen V for Vendetta?

A movie that shows what a dictator can do to a country when they put fear in people's hearts about others that are different. Where they make it others' faults for the corruption of the world, and if you don't agree then you are silenced and disappear forever in a black bag.

Unfortunately, that is the way our country is going. When you have a dictator on the throne, you can't expect anything else.

Look at the fact that our government has been shut down and will be for an indeterminate amount of time.

Families are constantly being ripped away from each other and split up. Lives are being torn apart.

When are people going to wake up and realize our country is in real jeopardy?

It makes me worried for the future of our children.

Are they going to grow up in a country that is going to dictate everything they do?

What they watch, what they eat, what they wear, who they talk to?

What kind of world would that be? Not a very happy one, I can tell you.

opinion
Like

About the Creator

Nalana Phillips

I am a single mother. I am looking to become a writer and am trying to eventually make a living from it.

I hope you enjoy anything that you read of mine.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.