The Swamp logo

What Happened to the Other Parties?

Green, Libertarian, and Independent

By Shanon NormanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
To Vote or Not to Vote?

I came from a family of Republicans. They were obsessed with elephants. I laugh about it now. I always registered as an Independent until I had discovered the Libertarian party, then I had registered that way. When I became a felon in 2018, my voting privilege became suspended. When I updated my driver's license, the question of voting came up and I knew not which party to choose so I skipped it. The options I wanted (Green, Libertarian, or Independent) were not listed. If my option isn't there, why should I choose something that is not accurate?

There are so many catch phrases floating in the air these days. Woke nation. The Silent Majority. Taboos. Cancel Culture. Yet my desires are the same as they ever were. To be the best that I can be. To do the best that I can do. To live life not as it is dictated, but as I feel makes me the happiest I can be and live with myself. Sex, politics, and religion don't go away just because we don't talk about them. Memories may change, but they also don't go away just because we want to forget. You may like the Mandela Effect, but the people who are not happy or satisfied with the changes from that "power" will not agree with you.

As for me, I've been a contradictory force to be reckoned with. I consider myself a peaceful patron of the country I was born in, a loyalist of the truths that I was taught, and a servant of God. My only dictator was God, and I've even rebelled against Him a few times. I have had and expressed a strong interest in Politics, not because I majored in Political Science, but because Politics is the essence of Respect. Without Politics, it is hard to achieve Mutual Respect for individual differences. Without Politics, War is every minute and Peace is impossible to achieve. Not when you are alone, but when you are in any social setting.

I mostly stay alone not because of Politics, but because there seems to be no general consensus of specific language or law or mutually agreed upon constitution of communication. That's pure chaos. When I say to someone "Choose your language" that is essential to a political discussion. If I curse in English, and you consider that a break in the political realm, then we can not proceed or progress in any political manner. If I light a cigarette, and you deem that as unsocial or against your "rules", then we can not proceed or progress in any social manner. I've cried like a child about it with the typical rages of "That's not fair!" and "You are a hypocrite!" yet that doesn't seem to change the situation for me so I've simply given up.

I don't care if you talk about the taboos or if you jump right into the action of them. I can't care. Your rules won't allow me to care. You see, here at Vocal, the editing process is not easy. If I have a typo, and I submit the article, I can not change the mistake after it is published unless I go through the annoying process of asking the administrators to allow the correction. Or I could pay $10 per month to support the contests that I will never win just so I could make sure that all my grammar and spelling are shiny and perfect. Ugh. No thank you.

When I write at free sites, like All Poetry, I let it all hang out. I don't give a hoot about shiny, correct, grammar, spelling. I let it be. I am me. Here I do it for the money. All these articles have added up to less than $3 in 3 years. If that's not funny, then I don't know what is.

legislationcorruptionpoliticswomen in politicsvotingsupreme courtsocial mediafeatureeducationcontroversiesactivism
Like

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.