The Swamp logo

We're Just Ordinary People

We Don't Know Which Way To GO

By Cyn KittPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Mid- pandemic; race wars

Today I met a Veteran downtown Brooklyn, Joe Settle. Gold Honorable medal and Purple Heart honoree, and the story he regaled me in was too much to decipher. No unemployment, no healthcare, no housing plan, NO reparations for his service from over 30 years of service. He gave me grandfather vibes. Now I grew up in Brooklyn, so struggle is not new to me. Yet the intersectionality in our issues and daily travesty is what makes us so complex. He is the face and the story of many . I just wish I could've helped somehow besides hydrating him with water. It was too much to handle.. Oppression looming in our community is too problematic.

His strife as well as the struggles of so many others had me on a guilt trip nearly half the day.

Imagery remains as I recall the touch of his skin and the sound of the fiber in his bones cracking under the pressure of severe arthritis. I wish I could heal him, yet I am still healing myself. While cooling in the shade of the hot ass Nuyorican heat...

Reminiscent now; we talk. About the movement of the Sun and the balance in meditation. Love.

Sr.Settle has so much faith and hope for the future though. His optimism? Unmatched. Literally, after I scoffed and said something along the lines of my disdain for systematic disenfranchisement, that the system is rigged and our demise is inevitable, he simply says "better days are to come." I smile at this and depart from his domain on the side of the government building, then chuckle at the irony in his choice of rent-free residence...Hard work pays off, yea. But what happens when the hardest working happens to also be the disproportionately disadvantaged ones. And the one and only who are isolated and expected to be the backbone of this country are the ones isolated and abandoned when it comes to the things they really need like money and healthcare.

I have friendly encounters all the time (gratefully) and meet people everyday, yet this particular instance gave me an eye awakening I ain't even know I needed . Maybe because this particular gentleman reminded me of my late and great, beloved grandfather who too served in the war, or because I saw a reflection of my community through his disparity. Faith has no part in this epidemic, being that it is systematically controlled.

Let's take Walmart for example. Billion dollar industry, that serves undermined communities in small surburbs. At first glance the high production rates and low prices appears beneficial to consumers. And while this may be true the funding allocated from these low prices at substantial quantities not only funds, but is the backbone of bureaucracy right here under our noses. In 2007, late 2008, after catastrophic Katrina hit homes, FEMA trailers were built to temporarily house those that were displaced. While conspiracy theorist like myself have strong implication of the houses being funded by the Walters family, specifically the preceding heir. Sam Walter. Head honcho, is deemed as the good guy usually, having a team to back them up with the shady underdog stuff, there is still enough tea to spill. It was scientifically proven by the CDC and Department of Health, that form gaseous formaldehyde, that over time, can be detrimental to human health. Now while this has been proven , I don't see any lawsuits hanging over their heads , nor does their remorse result in paying their over 2 million employers living wages.

I find it disheartening that the very ones who have been compromised time and time again, are further hurt and disbarred. Like Mr. Settle, like Katrina survivors, and like so many others victims of the circumstances that are without control; we share rage and our anger makes us shared in our M.A.D -mutually assured destruction.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Cyn Kitt

I don't have many friends so I come to you like an open book to vomit my pain, pleasures and political views. Thank you and please enjoy my transparency as much as I enjoy writing about them <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.