The Swamp logo

Unemployment

What is not being told.

By Blanche Smith-MightyPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like
Unemployment
Photo by Micheile Henderson on Unsplash

So one of the things that is becoming a political hot button topic is the unemployment benefits. Where people have filed for unemployment benefits and were getting the extra $600 per week from the federal government. Now that is going to be gone, it seems there is a panic in the air on what next will happen. Well from someone that has on unemployment before I can probably give you first hand experience. The only difference was, when I was on unemployment there wasn't any global pandemic going on. Does that mean you can't survive without that extra $600? Actually you can. It may be hard work and having to make certain adjustments but it is possible. The problem is we have politicians that has never been on unemployment to know what it's really like. They want to use the unemployment as another form of welfare where right now the requirement is just be afraid to go back to work. They use that extra $600 dollars a week to so call gamble with the American peoples lives. So let's clear up some things about unemployment that is not being told to the general public.

If the extra $600 a week stops it doesn't stop you from receiving unemployment benefits. That's right you still get your unemployment benefits based on your state criteria's. You work and pay taxes that allows you to have access to those benefits. Unemployment is not a federal only program, it's a state-federal jointly ran program. Which means the states sets up the terms of how long the people that reside in the state are eligible for benefits. It's like being on short term disability. It is only made to be relied on until you get another job or start your own business venture, or become self employed, like let's say an independent contractor. Depending on the state, county and/or city you live in you are still eligible to receive benefits for usually up to 37 weeks at 70% of what you use to make. That is more than 6 months of pay. Some states are extending it to the end of the year.

So if you need it simpler here's an example let's say you make $1000.00 per week from your employer, being on unemployment you get to claim $700.00 per week. I know that $300 decrease per week is a hard pill to swallow, believe me I have been there. Especially being a single parent, but what I focused on what the necessities that was needed. That is the basics food, shelter, clothing, utilities, and transportation. Like I mentioned I didn't get an extra $600 a week. The extra $600 it means that the weekly pay went up to $1300.00 which hey I understand extra money. Yeah!!! It's like having a bonus check on top of the regular pay check each week. Now the bonus is up and it's time to go back to work. Now there's a lot of states and communities that are still shut down, but is it necessary to keep the extra $600? What if you were offered $200 instead it would put your pay to $900 per week, sure it's less than $1000 and definitely less then $1300, but is getting 90% of what you use to make on unemployment better than 70%? Some politician, especially the one that never have been or ever will be on unemployment, don't see it that way. Like I mentioned earlier they want to make it like another form of welfare, but would it give you incentive to go back to work? There are many that says "no" it wouldn't. Why risk going back to work when the government is giving me more than what I was making previously. Here's the reality. The government get's the money off of the taxes we the people pay. Eventually if there isn't enough people that are unable to pay taxes, there won't be any money to give out for unemployment. Also that means the cost of living could go up, because they have to raise prices to cover the cost of the benefits, and eventually that means more taxes. In fact that is already happening in some places. Now here in Nevada we can have taxes taken out each week from the unemployment benefits so we don't have to pay it all at once at the end of the tax year. Think if cost of living goes up and taxes goes up but the pay for the benefits don't change what does that do? I don't have an economic degree, and I'm sure there are arguments for the opposite. I'm just looking at this at a critical thinking possibility, from a common sense point of view.

So as I mentioned I have been on unemployment a few times, mainly due to company shut downs and lay offs. First time was during 9/11. Guess what the government didn't give and extra $600 per week. Basically that's the only time I have known the country shutting down for a period of time, and not all industries did. I was working in the travel industry so yes I was affected by that event. When I was on unemployment, I couldn't afford more than the necessities. So maybe I can't get a new outfit at one of the name brand retailers. In Reno we have a lot of second hand stores that buys and sells gently use clothing was able to find some nice stuff at deep discounted prices up to almost 90% off. I also utilized the thrifts stores, especially since my son at the time was growing like a weed. I got refurbish cell phones and paid the prepaid plans they were cheap and offered the necessity of calling when needed. If we had any gaming systems those were refurbish as well. We didn't need the newest of things only functional. If I needed internet access and I didn't have any at home I would take my son to the public library and we would spend a few hours of me filling out applications, and my son picking books. I'm sure there are plenty out there that has done the same thing or are doing that right now, if the library is open to the public.

The last time I was on unemployment I was in school and 6 months away from getting my associates degree in Medical Assistant. Again I was laid off because the company I worked for closed down their Reno offices and moved it to another location. One of the requirements in the state of Nevada at the time was I was suppose to continue looking for work and accept any position available, which I did. I was also able to focus more on school and complete my degree. By the time the benefits ran out I was able to get a job at the local blood bank, delivering processed blood products to the hospitals and driving out to the blood drives to pick up the donated units. This lead me to a position as a phlebotomist and staying with a company for over 5 years.

Fast forward to now. I have been labeled as an essential worker working for a grocery chain. So I was not eligible for any unemployment benefits, because I had a job. So I don't get the extra benefit's of the $600 a week which hey for me an extra $600 would have put my paycheck of $605 per week to $1205. That would be nice, but it's not reality. Some that would say I was lucky. In some ways yes I was, especially hearing in the local news, and talking to people in my community how so many have suffered with the delays in the unemployment system. Those that have filed got approved only to get denied right afterwards. Some people have not received their benefits yet. As far as I see it that is more of an incentive to get back to work. Knowing the government can't put in a system that will help when needed. There is so many opportunities out there that don't risk your health if that is your concern. So do you really want to wait and rely on the government? Or is it time to find other ways to take care of yourself and your family. Is it more important to continue getting an extra $600 a week and watch the politician fight and bicker over it? Would you be okay with only having an extra $200 which would be about 90% of unemployment benefits? Or is 70% good enough for now until things get better? Regardless of what is being said if you are on unemployment and are getting a weekly check, that is not going away. Only the extra $600 is. For those that have filed and has not got anything yet. Keep fighting, there is away to get paid and the state does have to give back pay for every week you file and they approve. If you want to be say something to the politicians, hey if your not working, I would work on filling up their phone lines, email, and snail mail, with calls, email and letters. What else do you have to do?

Netflix anyone?

opinion
Like

About the Creator

Blanche Smith-Mighty

The "Bea Mighty" zone, is viewpoints, reviews and fun stories from a blunt spoken no filter woman. Everything is open for debate and it's ok to agree to disagree. Also check out my community on beamighty.locals.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.