The Swamp logo

Treat Every Day Like an Election Month

Being a Real American Every Day

By Timothy A RowlandPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Treat Every Day Like an Election Month
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Make It an All Year Long Thing

The most important action I will be taking starting this year, is treating every single day of the rest of my life as though it is an election month. What I mean by that, is every day I will be paying attention to what policies and changes are needed in the world. I will take true notice of which politicians and government officials are actively doing their part and stepping up to the challenges. Everyone pays close attention and give consideration to the issues during an election year and the months leading up to the time to vote. For the rest of my days; I will be doing that to the same degree, each and every day.

I will make a conscious decision to voice my concerns and beliefs to those who are elected to listen; as well as those in my life who choose to listen. It is my duty and my right to hold elected persons accountable for promises made and for the actions they take. I will no longer be silent when other attack my way of life and issues that directly affect those I care about and myself; including my neighbors I may not know.

By sydney Rae on Unsplash

Giving Back to Those Who Gave

A passion held by many Americans, is one for those who have served in the military. I have always given to the Wounded Warrior Project as much as I could. That won’t stop in the years to come either. This organization gives much needed help to veterans who may need healthcare, a place to sleep, food to eat, and any number of other things that we take for granted each day. Men and women who protected us and fought in wars; many of them permanently injured physically and mentally; are left in the streets and in harsh situations. These heroes are too often forgotten; The Wounded Warrior Project helps to bring them the help they need. Many of us will never forget; and they help veterans to know that.

Each time I consider how I will vote in an election, including the upcoming elections, I always consider how the elected party’s policy and attitude will impact those who are currently serving in the military, as well as those who once served. Keep in mind; the US President, becomes the commander and chief of our military, not just the leader of the United States. If I am going to help put someone in that position, I want to know that they will look out for the military personnel. There is no military without those who serve. There is no freedom without those who once served. This is something that will continue to be a part of my actions; not just my words. I donate money and I donate goods to the organization so that they can pass it on to the men and women who help build this country and our freedoms.

By NASA on Unsplash

Love My Country Even in Hard Times

One of the greatest; and perhaps hardest, things to do throughout the years, is to simply love your country when things are looking bleak. No matter what happens in the United States, I will hold the love for my country in my heart; and let it shine into the world at large. If something doesn’t go right or a group of terrorists are trying to rip apart my country; I will hold on to the love of country and shield myself from all lies and poisonous thoughts toward my fellow Americans.

I will remember that the power and beauty of this country is how we defend what is right and true, and how we treat each other. Change always begins with one’s self; so, I will be sure that I hold myself accountable for my actions and my outlook on the flag and the country as a whole. We all need to do at least that. The United States of America is simply the greatest country in the world; we have to come together and fight to keep it that way. We can do it; and I know that we will.

voting
5

About the Creator

Timothy A Rowland

I’m an every day human Xennial from the United States. I have many interest. I just want to improve your life and maybe entertain you. Available for editing and LeadsLeap projects at: https://www.fiverr.com/greyhatcompany

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.