The Swamp logo

to: Canada

cc: the rest of the world. subject: taking care of the damn planet.

By Hannah BPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Second Place in Speak Up Challenge
5

Oh, hey Canada (citizens, government, all concerned with the wellbeing of this country)!

I just wanted to send a quick email to make sure you saw my earlier email about you picking up the slack on this whole climate change thing? You know, the one where I stated it's absolutely ridiculous that I have to spend hundreds upon hundreds of dollars on locally made and sourced zero waste products just so that I can do my part to help keep our planet clean? I just want to re-iterate that I am absolutely happy to have spent the money, especially locally, and especially because I, like, want a planet to live on, but don't you think more people might spend that money if it were incentivized? Like, you know, people collect and recycle their bottles for MONTHS to get $10, yet we have nothing in place for people to claim any of their expensive zero waste products for refunds? I know I've already stated this I just really wanted to make sure you saw the part where I had to pay $50 for dryer balls that keep waste out of our landfills instead of $5 for dryer sheets that can't even be recycled? You did? Okay cool just... just making sure. They're from BC. Very nice. Came in a cool compostable package. Okay write back soon.

Sincerely, Hannah.

Hello again Canadians... Justin... I know you can see my emails!

Just checking in to see how everyone's doing.... thought I'd bounce my sense of impending doom off of a few of you see what happens thought maybe we could all grab a coffee and just lightly go over OUR PLANET BURNING TO ASH. I know, you guys are super busy it's just that time of year when everyone is feeling pretty blah..... but.... as I've mentioned before.... the ozone layer also feels pretty blah these days.... just wondering if any of you saw where I started that poll to see if you could possibly not drive your enormous truck to work every single day? I didn't get any responses and I'm just really hoping to know what my winter wardrobe will be like next year. know, I know, the carbon tax is going to save us all, it's proven to work, blah blah, yet.... for some reason..... I am not seeing less cars on the road. I don't see safe bicycle routes in smaller towns and cities. To power our homes with solar is an initial cost of anywhere upwards of $20,000, and not only does solar only really work when the sun is out (which.....is basically never if you're west of Ontario?), but there are 0 federal rebates for personal solar power use for our entire country. So....you tax carbon emissions.....and that's it? Are you planning on just encouraging your country to use sustainable energy sources by punishing the only one you've made attainable? Did you want us all to just stop powering our homes and buy $900 Canada Goose jackets with the money we save on carbon tax? *attached is a poll on Canada Goose jacket styles*

Sincerely, Hannah.

Alright "Canucks",

First of all, I find it very interesting that not only have the only responses thus far been to a poll on $900 jackets, but an overwhelming response was in favour of the Mystique parka? I mean, I was willing to accept this country was complacent in terms of saving our planet, but fashionably challenged? I am even more outraged than before.

I just want to say how disappointed I am in the behaviour of so many of you. Every time miss Greta Thunberg rolled in to so many of our towns, there were so many of you there making fun of her passion for preserving this planet, calling her vicious names and slapping her face on memes and posts full of profanity. She is a CHILD. A child that wants a world to grow up on. And our "diverse" country, known for being "too friendly", treats her like that? You're making fun of a child who is scared she won't get to live a full life because of the blatant disregard there has been for our planet. Justin T meets with her and tells her he'll plant more trees if he's elected and then approves a major pipeline after he vowed not to in his campaign for Prime Minister? I believe she said it best when she said, "how dare you?"

You all complain that millenials and anyone younger than millenials are complacent, lazy, cry babies, snowflakes, and we "just don't care". A child takes to the world stage to bring attention to scientific research and better methods for sustainable living, and instead of listening to her, of being proud for posessing the conviction and passion you all love to say children lack, you're angry that she "threatens" the oil industry. Unbelievable. First the jackets, now this.

I wanted to write this to tell you I won't keep writing just to be ignored, and that I resign as an advocate for sustainable living. I'm sure these emails are getting annoying. I'm sure you'd love it if I stopped believing I might one day influence you to make better choices as individuals to help our planet.

But just as you don't seem to care, neither do I.

Until you reply with better ideas and incentives for sustainable energy, zero waste alternatives, and environmental preservation, you can expect to keep hearing from me.

P.S: a poll is attached for butter tarts vs nanaimo bars for most Canadian dessert.

Sincerely, Hannah.

activism
5

About the Creator

Hannah B

Mom, self proclaimed funny girl, and publicly proclaimed "piece of work".

Lover and writer of fiction and non-fiction alike and hoping you enjoy my attempts at writing either.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.