The Swamp logo

"The Generals of the American Military Would Be Forgiven..."

"...if they walked off the battlefields in disgust"

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Right around the time of what would've been a celebration of the late, great Dr. King's ninety-first Born Day, it seems only fitting to revisit his legacy and whatnot.

Some forty-five plus years after "The King of Love", as he was affectionately known, was assassinated and the world is still reeling from the ramifications, in my humble opinion.

Of course, I would be terribly remiss to not mention the government's court confirmed orchestration of said assassination. The case received little to no media attention due to coinciding with the O.J. Simpson trial.

Speaking of little known facts, it would seem as if everyone has all but completely forgotten the real reason that Dr. King is no longer with us: He became anti-war and anti-poverty.

The arguably esoteric quote, from one of his last speeches, which both the title and subtitle of this piece are based on, is incredibly difficult to find. Had it not been for me randomly listening to Pacifica Radio one day recently, I might not have ever discovered the priceless gem.

In a similar vein, I am deeply indebted to them, in spite of my rather decent sized donation and extreme patience, in the matter of them getting my "thank you" gift, of over a hundred hours of rare and momentous speeches to me.

Although I have yet to take a crack at soaking in some of those undeniably wise words, I certainly look forward to the days that I can help impart some of which into my future productive members of society.

Speaking of which, these past few weeks on a hiatus from my day job have been a tad bit tumultuous. I can hardly imagine attempting to take on an entire regime while being the main breadwinner as, Dr. King did.

Of course, no piece on the legend would be remotely complete without mention of his beautiful queen that "held down the fort." Rumor has it that the Black homemakers were the real backbone of the civil rights movement.

One has to simply ponder and sit in awe of the strength and wisdom of "Sweet Queen Coretta"; may she rest in peace.

On a similar tangent, I certainly have not even the slightest bit of envy on the children of those two pioneers. "Big shoes to fill", is a detrimental understatement!

A large part of me hopes and prays that I never really have my fifteen minutes of fame, for the sake of my Little Ones; and what would be their nonexistent privacy. The former(?) Duchess of Sussex and her shenanigans make almost perfect sense in that light.

Back to our side of the pond though.

My mom was nearing only her sixth Born Day when Dr. King was taken from us. If memory serves me correct, she personally indicated to me that that day would live in infamy with her; if not almost everyone else aged enough to remember that odious act also.

To bring everything full circle, I am almost green with envy in regards to those who had those trying times of the Vietnam era as their coming of age. Rather than the impending economic crisis that will likely define the political era of the next few generations.

It will be of absolute irrelevance to be endowed with the congratulatory concessions of those very same individuals who declared that the housing market crisis would never come to be.

Too long; didn't read- A dear Facebook friend just shared what used to be my favorite MLK quote to my profile, "We will either learn to live together as brothers..." Now, the one that this piece's titles are based on is my new favorite.

Imagine if the Armed Forces of Dr. King's day received the paltry budget of the anti-poverty initiatives, then or now.

history
1

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.