The Swamp logo

Switching Political Parties

The reasons why I’m now a Libertarian

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

In my previous story, I shared my honest opinions about President Joe Biden and why I no longer support him. The main issue I had with him was implementing vaccine mandates for businesses with 100 or more employees. As of this story, the 5th Circuit in Louisiana issued a stay, preventing the mandate to take effect. Also recently, the Occupational Safety and Health Administration, or OSHA, suspended the enforcement of President Biden’s vaccine mandate.

26 Republican led states filed lawsuits against the Biden Administration, calling the vaccine mandate, which was announced back in September, unconstitutional and a government overreach. I predict that the Supreme Court will strike down this ridiculous and draconian mandate, because no one should lose their jobs or livelihoods because they don’t want to get vaccinated. I believe that being inoculated is a personal choice and the government doesn’t have the authority to bully or coerce them to getting the jab. After President Biden announced the vaccine mandate, that was the last straw for me. Never in my thirty something years of being on this Earth that I’ve witnessed an administration being so intrusive in the lives of the American people. As I’ve mentioned in my last story, these vaccine mandates were never about safety. It’s all about control and we can read between the lines.

I’ve been a Democrat for years, but I now regret supporting Joe Biden, because he doesn’t care about our personal freedoms. He just wants to dictate how we should live our lives, as if he knows us personally. My feelings about him made me realize that I could no longer coddle him anymore.

This leads me to what I’ll be talking about. After President Biden announced vaccine mandates for federal workers, I decided to become a Libertarian. Below, I’ll share some of the issues that I stand on. It’s going to be a bit of a long list, but hang in there with me. Before I get to that, here’s some interesting facts you probably didn’t know about the Libertarian Party:

It was founded in 1971 by David Nolan

It’s the third largest political party in the United States

The Libertarian Party mascot is the porcupine

Their motto is “Minimum government, maximum freedom”

So what is a Libertarian, you ask? I’ll explain it in simple terms: they believe in giving people more freedom and don’t believe in government intrusion.

Freedom: I believe that everyone has the right to live their lives the way they want without government interference. Covid-19 restrictions, as well as mask and vaccine mandates, are the main reasons why I no longer support an authoritarian and tyrannical president like Joe Biden. We don’t like being told what to do. We’re Americans and we believe in freedom.

Immigration: My stance on this is that immigrants from all backgrounds are welcome in the United States, as long as they are not causing trouble towards others. They deserve to seek better lives for themselves and their families. However, I believe that anyone who has a violent criminal history should not be allowed entry into this country. My now estranged parents immigrated from the African country of Liberia since they were kids and have lived in this country for over 40 years. This occurred before I was born. Republicans like to assume that all undocumented immigrants and immigrants in general are criminals, which is not the case. You can’t paint all of them with one brush.

LGBTQ+ Rights: Marriage equality has been the law of the land for over six years, but still, people like myself face discrimination. Last summer, several Republican led states, including the state I currently live in, which is Arkansas, passed and signed bills targeting transgender youth. One example of this would be they have to be on either male or female sports teams based on their gender specified at birth as opposed to their sexual orientation or gender identity. Misgendering or dead naming a transgender person can put them in danger, such as being a target to bullying or causing him or her to have suicidal thoughts and even take their own lives. That’s why referring to them as their preferred name and pronouns are important. Them attacking children, including transgender children that they don’t personally know, is very low of them to do. It’s disheartening and appalling. I’ve spoken out against these hateful bills and made the decision to no longer attend conventions in Little Rock, the state’s capital. Everyone should be treated with dignity and respect, no matter who they are. This includes having access to public accommodations and services. The right for LGBTQ+ couples to adopt children should not be a difficult process for them to endure. Gay or straight, they have the right to have and raise their children. You have the right to live your own life without anyone’s permission.

I’ll be doing a second part on this story on other issues I believe in as a Libertarian. In the meantime, be sure to follow me on social media. Plus, if you love this story and others I’ve written, please support me by following me on Vocal and sending me a one-off tip. Your tips will encourage me to write more stories.

opinion
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.