The Swamp logo

Second Stimulus Check is Coming

Alexa play "Rich Girl" by Gwen Stefani!

By M. GarciaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Second Stimulus Check is Coming
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

Alexa play Rihanna "B*tch Better Have My Money"! Alright everybody things are happening in Congress; things are finally happening. Apparently the second stimulus check has been approved, even though it should have been the tenth or eleventh check but no one is keeping track I'm sure. Is it going to be $600 (so disrespectful but are we surprised) or $2000 (less disrespectful but still rude). Let the fight between House and Senate begin. Is that how it works? I'm a millennial so I wouldn't know, shout out to my American Government teacher.

So our favorite Sagittarius girlie COVID-19 turned one years old months ago (I say Sagittarius because she goes around like a rumor and can't commit to one location, I'm calling y'all out) and the American people have only received one stimulus check from the government. No wonder why other First World countries stopped respecting our government. So obviously we are all overdue for eleven checks but we will settle for one because we have no power. (too real?) Now the tension is whether it will be a slap-in-the-face, we-don't-care-about-you, just-take-it $600 OR the we-still-don't-care, here-you-go, all-hail-lil-Donnie $2000. Now it has come to my attention that lil Donnie is the one that told Congress to raise the amount to $2000. Aight I see you, but with glasses. Because I have absolutely no idea if landlords are still charging rent that was due months ago but when I found out the second round would be $600 I automatically thought of people who are behind in rent and mortgages. First of all, why would people be behind on rent during a pandemic where millions of Americans lost their jobs? Anyway back to the Capitalist matrix.

$600 is not even half of the average rent where I live so I can't imagine people that live in a city or people that don't rely on roommates to cut the bills and have to pay for everything in full. Now $2000 is still not enough for the average family or person that lost their home so it might be a lose-lose situation but we are expected to be happy. I'll be honest I would probably cry tears of joy if they send out $2000. I have already seen the memes of people's reaction of finding out the stimulus check might go from $600 to $2000, y'all are excited. I'm happy for y'all. Alexa play "Ka-Ching!" by Shania Twain! Y'all know that song? Classic.

I wonder what the average American is going to pay for with the stimulus check and when we find out if it's $600 or $2000. The difference between getting $600 or $2000 is that one is enough to pay for a Macbook Air. One can buy the new iPhone 12. One can pay for the average rent where I live. And the other one can pay for groceries or something. This has given me more tension than the actual presidential election. My friends were chugging wine all week while I was scrolling on Tumblr and checking Google live results. That really represents my relationship with life's tense moments.

Overall, I am not disappointed by the American government because I have no expectations for the American government. Whoops. I am still in millennial shock finding out how money Jeff Bezo has made during this pandemic, but at the same time people are addicted to Amazon sooo I guess balance. Are other countries laughing at our handling of the pandemic, yeah. Am I also laughing at the American government while crying inside because I also live in this country? Sure am buddies.

Alexa play "Mo Money Mo Problems" by The Notorious B.I.G.

satire
1

About the Creator

M. Garcia

Pop Culture

Politics

Personal Rants

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.