The Swamp logo

Roe V Wade

Why I’m considering becoming a politician.

By Alistair KingsleyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo Credit: Mirekis

Allow me to make one thing perfectly and undeniably clear: I am 100% pro-choice. Not just in regards to a woman’s right to choose about pregnancy, but as Americans, our freedom to choose about everything. Frankly, I think the general public, our society, and our government have continuously, and even more dramatically as of late, over reached. Instead of fixing problems and taking care of situations they are taking away our freedoms and expecting it to fix the issues. The overturning of Roe v Wade is just the latest example of this.

Instead of trying to figure out a way to reduce the number of unsafe/unwanted/non-consensual pregnancies, we are going to take away the woman’s right to choose what to do with her body and pregnancy. How does that make sense? I’ve been around for a while now, and I honestly say, I have almost never seen a blanket “take it away” type rule, work.

And just as a side note, it’s not simply a matter of “just don’t have sex.” I mean, some scenarios, sure. But uninformed people make ignorant choices sometimes. Sometimes, even though they want a baby more than anything, the risk is too high. And so many other reasons… there are just too many variables for this not to be legal on a federal level.

And don’t get me wrong, I’m not a fan of abortion, at all. However, I’m also not an idiot. I understand that sometimes, just sometimes, it is unfortunately the best option. For women to be denied the ability to choose, frankly, is a travesty. Furthermore, this whole situation serves as clear evidence that our leadership does not know how to handle problems. Beyond that, it goes to show that our leaders will continue to push their own agendas regardless of what is going on with the actual people they represent.

The same can be said about a number of different issues for example smoking. Smoking cigarettes is bad. It’s bad for you. I am a smoker, I know it’s bad. Guess what, I don’t want my kids to start smoking either. But, if they choose to start smoking that is their decision, I’ve done my job as a parent to educate them and give them the tools they need to make educated and informed decisions. They don’t need Uncle Sam stepping in and making that decision for them.

At the end of the day, America is the land of the free. We’re free to make choices and live our lives the way that we want. We make our own decisions and we live with the consequences. The last thing I want is any self-serving, agenda driven, bought and paid for 10 times over, crooked politicians deciding that they know what’s best for me, my family, and our personal situation. That is what this ridiculous overturning represents to me, and as a nation we should really be reevaluating who we elect to represent us.

In closing I’ll just say that this isn’t about left or right, red or blue, rich or poor, or any other political “hot topic.” This is about being decent human beings, understanding that YOU can CHOOSE to NEVER HAVE AN ABORTION, but that doesn’t mean that YOU SHOULD GET TO CHOOSE WHAT SOMEONE ELSE DOES. It’s not your business, it’s not your problem, it’s not you decision.

All of these thoughts, lead me to the following conclusion: in order for our government to properly represent the people of our republic, then it needs to be compromised of regular people. Politics needs to go back to being a civil duty and not a career that leads to wealth and perks that most of us could only dream about. Stay tuned, I might be making a career change!

controversies
Like

About the Creator

Alistair Kingsley

I'm a serial entreprenuer and have started and grown multiple businesses during my professional career. I've been fortunate enough to see a lot of success, and have only recently experienced true failure. Join me on my comeback journey!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.