The Swamp logo

Register to Vote || Driving You Homo

Make your vote count!

By Wayne CarterPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sam Lake Wayne Carter and Veronica Green in the Riverside Radio Studios in London

In todays global climate many people look to their politicians in disgust and think.......urgh!

Currently we have the likes of American President Donald Trump, Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison and British Prime Minister Boris Johnson making decisions for their respective countries.

As an Australian living in the UK I feel it is my duty to vote, thankfully I am able to do this, in both UK and Australian elections. While I have very passionate views about who I think should be in these positions of influence I have seen, particularly in these 3 countries, a level of disconnect with the political realm and mainstream culture.

In recent elections many voters have become apathetic, thinking 'why should I vote if I think they are both terrible'.

Personally for me I see political parties like a sport team. We have the captain of the team but this team is stronger with all members working together collaboratively.

Politicians help shape the way our society works, it is therefore our duty to have people who have the best interests for their constituency.

Open discussion and a respect for people's political choices is something we should take very seriously. While I have my own political leanings I have friends who disagree with my views. My belief is that so long as your thoughts and actions don’t cause emotional or physical distress to someone then you should be respected in your choices. Obviously this is a broad statement and can be interpreted in multiple ways.

Politically speaking as a freelancer artist, performer and writer I fall toward the left. However in my work as a sociologist I make it my goal to understand others and their viewpoints. Thus I fall somewhere in the centre somewhere. Like everyone I think there are blurring lines and their is no one definitive answers.

To make a change, I think it is vital we understand our opponents and not just yell and get frustrated at them.

Over the course of the last few years I have watched these politicians strive to not only understand their adversaries but make positive changes for their communities.

Politicians I see and rate highly:

Sarah Hanson-Young - Australian Senator (Australian Greens Party)

Penny Wong - Australian Senator (Current Leader of the Opposition)

Jess Phillips - UK MP (British Labour Party - Birmingham Yardley)

Mhairi Black - UK MP (Scottish National Party - Paisley and Renfrewshire)

Diane Abbott - UK MP (Shadow Home Secretary - MP for Hackney North and Stoke Newington)

I was not surprised that my list included mostly left leaning politicians but I was shocked to realise that all of the people I think are leading their constituency well just happen to be strong women. In what is a very masculine dominated profession and an inherently patriarchal society in both Australia and the UK it is amazing to see these strong ladies getting things done.

You may disagree with my favourite politicians or feel disappointed that your favourite is not included. This is why voting is important. You need to have people in positions of influence who you believe will best support your community.

Driving You Homo Video Clip:

In the video linked above you can witness Sam Lake recommend to Wayne Carter and Veronica Green to vote in the upcoming UK Elections. While all agreed that voting is a crucial part of our democracy Sam and Wayne. While on live radio we can’t share a political bias we feel it is important to have an open discussion about politics so that all people are given equal rights and are treated with dignity and respect.

@01waynecarter @mrsamlake @veronicaqween

Subscribe to the @drivingyouhomo twitter, facebook and instagram to keep updated with all queer news and current events.

voting
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.