The Swamp logo

Pray For America

A silly little billboard

By Michelle Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I saw this "statement" on a billboard that I passed at 2:20 AM on Halloween morning. As soon as I read it I giggled and immediately thought "Wow girl, You're fucked up." Truth be told.. That I am. Along with millions and millions of other Human Beings who like to call themselves "Americans" Does anybody really know the actual meaning of what it means to be an American? Yes is the answer. I would hope so. Gosh...

2020 has been the most crucial disappointing year I have ever experienced but I am also grateful for it. I honestly shouldn't even be discussing this on an open document, but screw it. We're all entitled to our own opinion's right? I have always as far back as I can remember disagree with the fact that jillions of people need one person (who at the end of the day I must add-in, is exactly the same as you and me) to run a country by a set of rules that were first established centuries+ ago. Why we need to vote every four years. Why are we even voting? To put more than half of OUR lives in the hands of someone based on their promises? How can one person make the same promise to 60 billion people? Then we have stipulations to follow through with and if we don't and go off the grid then were considered criminals, hippies, dropouts, losers, I could go on and on but I won't because I know you've got the picture. Society nowadays (for my generation) is so ass backwards it makes me sick.

Let's start with Probation.

Probation is a big pile of shit that when its announced everybody gets a migraine. Argue to me if I'm wrong. I completely understand the system of working together in building people up and mold them into better versions of themselves. What I dont understand is the fines and then theres hidden fees that range from about on a misdeminor charge to $100-$200 AFTER the actual sentencing has been paid off. If we are suppose to be building each other up, Teaching and learning is a constant series of events. Wouldnt it be more meaningful and more of a valuable lesson if we taught each other with the kindess out of our hearts? I hit you in the gut with that one huh? Dont worry, I surprise myself too here lately.

Next, Race.

Isnt it so funny how we all live on the same planet, right? We have soilders who fight for our safety, Our children go to the same school, We live in the same community together, We work with each other. But we are divded up as groups of colors, nationalities, education, etc You get the point. Why though? Why do the rich need to be seperated in their own gated communites from us fair folks. Why is it such at the end of the day a huge biological importance that we have to have social security numbers. Idk, Now im rambling and I'm sure now some of you are lost. Whatver. We can discuss the Gays A.K.A The Coolest Humans Ever! Even Down Syndrome, psshhh.. They are the closest thing to any kind of "heaven". Going back to our Government real quick.. Has it like really crossed anybodies mind that we are constantly being tracked, possibly.. Someone knows where we are at all times. Creepy.. HA! Anyways, Why is it difficult for us to step up and decide to make a change.. Be different, Put out that helping hand.. Is it because we have an image we have to live up to or were considered an outsider? Free gam to judge and point fingers at. Everybody came into this world the same exact way and were all going out the same way. So calm your tits, were all equal and we will always be equal.

To sum up this blog, I think its disgusting how Americans treat each other and we need to be better than what were giving out. Yes there are people dedicated to helping the disabled, homeless, and underprivileged but I see there is more damage being done than there is actual good over riding it.

opinion
Like

About the Creator

Michelle

Hi there! I used to write short stories as a child into early teenage years and got seperated from writing. I am coming back to it so with that being said, Tips are greatly appreciated as it will help me on my writing as feedback.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.