The Swamp logo

Power of the Gun

So Much Power in a Little Vessel

By Michael J. HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Power of the Gun
Photo by Thomas Def on Unsplash

Everybody is entailed to their own opinions about guns and rightfully so. If if it is in the right hands, hopefully that person will act responsible with it.

For me, this has always been a thought. Can I, Michael Jamaal Harris be able to go and get a gun for myself?

Yes, I know protecting myself is important but throughout my life I, talking about me, I did not need a weapon.

Situations and life can change and I have contemplated attempting to get my FOID card but still. Can I be able to get a gun?

For me it's way to much power in my hands. I can punch somebody and it can hurt. But with a bullet, it can be life or death.

The trigger so sensitive and the bullet being pushed out with so much force as if it is running an 100m dash.

The weight of it as well, as if I'm holding my existence in my hand.

Now I can protect myself like I said, but it's unnerving to imagine myself holding that caliber of a weapon in my hands.

I admire the workmanship that goes into it, I like the movies, but it's too much for me.

To this day, I still drive pass this street by my house where one of my friends, their brother was shot. I look down there with my heart heavy. I think to myself, I need to lead the youth. This pain, this gun, this pain that we allowed to explode through this gun.... We can put it down.

Yes we have the 13th Amendment freely able to bare arms, but many of us have not faced the battles that these guns bring.

Some people hunt, go to the range, or just shoot targets in their backyards and say don't take our rights. I don't want your rights taken away, I just want you to understand.

To understand the other person's story. To understand that a mother's child, a father's child might not make it home tonight. That child's killer might not be caught. That child could have been doing e-learning in their living room when a stray bullet him them right in their head.

There is power in the gun. You can have your rights, but before you speak, listen to the other person's story and understand that some people do evil acts with this gun. Some people live in areas where crime occurs more frequently.

What we need now more than ever is unity. This past year brought out our true colors and showed us who we really are. Covid has not been good, yet there are some positives. Now, we have time to work on task we never took time off for, we have time to rekindle relationships. Honestly, we always had the time, we just allowed other things to take top priority in our life.

As far as guns and unity go, learning about guns is a must. I know a little bit but not a lot. Having a table discussion but the pros and cons, about how we can be better engaged in the conversation has to happen. Not everybody would agree with me nor will everybody agree with you. But at the end of the day, we have to respect one another and listen to one another.

The only way, we can heal as a nation. The only way we can heal as individuals is through the power of relationships. So go and shoot your guns and have your joy of hunting. But know that there is and will always be other sides of the story.

I suggest that we all go and …. Listen, Be slow to speak, and Grow.

opinion
Like

About the Creator

Michael J. Harris

I'm a young inspiring author and youth leader. I hope that through my YouTube and my writings that I can inspire the youth to both do and be more. Building on a ministry of stepping into the youth lives and allowing them to be themselves.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.