The Swamp logo

Make America Think Again: Walk a Mile in My Shoes

Part Three

By Bill CroftPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo Credit: Jose Moreno

Today is the day. Your case is being heard in court, but you are not invited. You are reminded that court officials went on record more than three years ago, stating you were guilty of crime even before the investigation began. The lead prosecutor stated for nearly three years that they have compelling evidence in plain sight you committed these crimes but never presented the evidence in court. After an extensive investigation, it was determined no crime was committed. You felt relieved, and you could go on with life. However, the prosecutor was not satisfied, so you have now been accused of more crimes publicly. He along with other prosecutors continue to pursue you, which disrupts your life, your family’s life, and your ability to do your job. Today is the day that it is heard and you feel some sense of justice coming.

Much to your chagrin, the prosecutor is appointed as a judge in your case, and a hearing is scheduled. You heard reports the judge repeatedly told everyone that you are guilty of a crime. After the hearing, he also told the press. To date, you have not been informed of any specific charge. Later, you heard many of the jurors in the press say you are guilty of a crime but never state the exact crime. Documents were written up by the prosecutors and judge and passed by a group of like-minded prosecutors with no crime listed. Publicly, many of them have stated that you are guilty, and you must prove your innocence, yet they offered no opportunity for you to be present or for your council to be present. They have released documents and statements to the press to “show” you are guilty despite the lack of any rebuttal being allowed from your council. In fact, they released evidence against you without any opportunity for rebuttal as well. They have witnesses who will not be allowed to testify despite your request. In fact, they will not even interview your accuser.

You now feel the process has been unfair to you and everyone around you. It does not matter. They even say your criticism of the process is proof positive of your guilt. Who would want to walk this path?

You may not like Donald Trump or may not have voted for him, but I wonder how many of us could have withstood this treatment. Could you have walked in his shoes for one day?

Despite any misgivings you may have about President Trump, we should all want a fair system of justice. If not, we may be subject to the same treatment someday. Of course, this is just politics, not justice.

Maybe we should listen to the words of a song by Joe South and the Believers which was covered most famously by Elvis Presley, titled "Walk A Mile In My Shoes," which seems appropriate for today's events:

"if I could be you if you could be me

For just one hour

If we could find a way to get inside

Each other's mind

If you could see you through my eyes

Instead of your ego

I believe you'd be, I believe you'd be surprised to see

That you've been blind

Walk a mile in my shoes

Walk a mile in my shoes

Yeah, before you abuse, criticize, and accuse

Walk a mile in my shoes

Now there are people on reservations

And out in the ghetto

And, brother, there, but for the grace of God

Go you and I

If I only had the wings

Of a little angel

Don't you know I'd fly to the top of a mountain

And then I'd cry, cry, cry?

Walk a mile in my shoes

Walk a mile in my shoes

Yeah, before you abuse, criticize, and accuse

Walk a mile in my shoes

Walk a mile in my shoes

Walk a mile in my shoes

Yeah, before you abuse, criticize, and accuse

Walk a mile in my shoes "

Author: Dr. Bill Croft

opinion
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.