The Swamp logo

Letter to another corrupt pol

Because bribery is basically lobbying by another name.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
2
P/c: Cmfg804 vía Pixabay. Please show them Love too. Thanks in advance.

15JUN2023;0649, THU– Capitol Heights, MD

Dear Angela,

What planet spawned you and your ilk; if I may, Ma'am? "Asking for a friend!"

With the utmost sincerity, I have the most repressive regime of all time on line one for you; and they said that they need some of their coldheartedness returned to them. That's presumptive, of course, of the feasibility you'd be willing to part with anything whatsoever.

Reminiscent of the old joke going, essentially: "It was so cold out this morning, I saw a politician with [her] hands in [her] own pockets!" Dios Mío, "representative."

I'm going to politely be direct: I demand to know how many (as well as how heavily) you and yours invested in for-profit prisons. As a rough guesstimate; undoubtedly. It is palpably self-evident that you haven't even vaguely been introduced to the ancient African concept/philosophy called "Ubuntu".

In a sentence, it traditionally translates to, "I am; because we are." Fancy way of saying, "Unity above all."

Or, "We all we got." Rather than the somewhat popular, "D.C. or nothing "; it'd better correlate to a, "Humanity or nothing."

If you have yet to deduce, somehow, I'm unmistakably referring to your recent veto of the anticrime initiative; due to, "budgetary concerns." I find it very peculiar (to speak a detrimental understatement) that politicians' salaries, nor term limits, are ever factored as such; seemingly.

It may actually be true what they say, "You can't hardly trust a politician half as far as they can throw communities under the bus." I may or may not have ad-libbed that last one, "a smidge."

Keeping it gang trill, tho: I'd rather have the corrupt Virginia politician, Ms. Ayala, as a rep. At least I know it only costs between $100k-150k to buy her loyalty.

I genuinely wonder how much that amount correlates to 30 shekels of silver... Speaking of which, isn't there a highly regarded Book out here somewhere that purports, "The Love of money is the root of all evil"?

Rumor has it that we only lose when trading the eternal for the temporal. Color me sentimental, idealistic, and/or optimistic.

Conversely, I'm the type of individual who somehow still believes in giving convicted criminals a second chance. How "grateful" am I to learn just this morning that you don't share "quite" the same level of compassion.

I say this with an "appropriate" level of respect: You have some audacity, Ma'am! I'll accept some accountability for being a tad bit out of the loop.

Even still, for some reason: I highly, and eerily doubt that there was any sort of public debate; and/or meaningful conferring with knowledgeable constituents pertaining to your soon to be infamous veto. Perhaps there was an "absent" marked next to your name on this particular day of civics class.

However, I'm almost dead certain that they taught the concept that the renowned Dr. Umar Johnson turned into an adage: "[Almost] all [blue collar] crime is economic. Let's say, for all intents and purposes, that the aforementioned notion is an indisputable fact of life.

Why have you just cast so many beautiful Black pearls before swine? "Does not compute."

I guess the fact of the matter remains: You politicians only care about three things— power; more power; and absolute power. As a wise man once declared so eloquently , "Power corrupts; and absolute power corrupts absolutely..."

Your apoplectic; incensed; and vitriolic constituent,

Darrius [Redacted], Maryland born and bred.

***

P.S.- Oddly enough, I just remembered that you're running to represent the Free State in the U.S. Senate. My faith prevents me from wishing ill will on others.

That being the case, I'm still praying that you are not ever again allowed anywhere near Capitol Hill. If ya get barred from Capitol Heights too, somehow, I will not shed a single tear; lest it be one of the joyous variety...

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

politicspoliticiansopinionlegislationhumanitycorruptioncontroversies
2

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.