The Swamp logo

I Was Pissed At Him!!

To those of you right now who are super offended, I beg you to keep reading!!

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
My Buddy David on 🗳 Day 2020

It has been said, politics makes strange bed fellows, which reveals all the most corrupt, stiff necked, evil, sadistic people of our society. Politics even tho it carries a huge burden, it has been a many moon since it has been the igniter of high energy, and yes even the effect of some brutal battles.

I have made the statement numerous times, that I am retired from politics. Again I reiterate... I EDB, am retired from politics. To me politics is like dare i like having emotion corona. It slowly eats at your soul, until it has completely destroyed every ounce of who you are. It is like having a cancer. It started as a thought, which spread to ever fiber of your being, until now you are just completely consumed by it. It is like being in a bad relationship, you knew it was a bad choice from jump, but she did such a good job...... MOVING ON, so you kept her, realizing down the road those special exercises, does not compare to the misery you are living in. All of these analogies, are reason why I believe people like me, choose not to be involved. We talk a lot about voter suppression from a physical standpoint, but not enough about vote suppression from a emotional 😭😭😭...

I am retired from politics, but not from being a citizen. Not from understanding who my elected officials are, and what they plan to offer me, and not from helping those around me, who wish to also participate in this our democracy. So holding true to this point, I found myself hard at work this past Super Tuesday. Playing taxi driver, or LYFT, UBER, however you wish to call it. My goal was to pick up seniors, those with disabilities, or just folks who didn’t have transportation, taking them too and from the polls. It was my honor to do it, not because I want to boost my ego, but because I desire to make sure all have an equal voice in this democracy.

After all that, I settled down to do what a true social person would. I checked my Facebook. I know why TF would you do that? It was because I am crazy 😜😝 Asf. In checking my facebook, nothing unusual stood out to me. It was the typical moaning, and bitching, we have all become accustomed to. One scroll after the other seemed to reveal in different forms, the same mindset until I came to this one post. A post I HAD TO 🛑 and check, clear my eyes 👀, and my throat.

My buddy David Schleeper posted a picture of him, which was typical on a day like today. It is Election 🗳 Day, and the unofficial protocol is to post a pic of you with your voters sticker. That would have been fine, if that was all I saw. My buddy, the one who every Monday I look 👀 forward to a good chat over some CHICK-FIL-A, thought it okay to walk himself into a polling station wearing a “TRUMP 2020” T-shirt. My first reaction like many of you reading this was. DUDE... WTF??? I can’t tell you how many thoughts went thru my brain 🧠.. Has this dude been playing me? Is he really my friend? Should I denounce him, publicly put him on blast? It was a serious moment of straight up being emotionally drained. I threw down the phone, at the same time as me, with my head fitting the floor first. AND THEN IT HIT ME..

EDB!!! YES??? (For those of you wondering, I do answer myself!!). Didn’t you and DMoney have breakfast not twenty four hours ago?? YES.. and didn’t you two discuss who you were considering as your Super Tuesday choice??? YES.. And isn’t this a DEMOCRATIC PRIMARY??? YES... And doesn’t he have a voters sticker, which the only way you can get is if one voted 🗳??? YES... So WTF is wrong with you??

I am being EMO asf. That is what is wrong with me. I am the product of my political environment. One that is full of those who get hurt over the least little thing, who choose to react instead of think, who chooses to promote their emotions, instead of extensive processing. We are the generation, who has lost the art of thinking before your speak. Which if continues down this path lands us in nothing but trouble...

So think before you speak, process what you promote, and only deal in what you know. Leaving the rest alone, recognizing you are not the general manager of this world, you can’t fix every problem, nor righten ever wrong.. You are just you, and if you become the best at being you, and help others become the best at being them, we all see the best of the this wonderful world.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.