The Swamp logo

I Stand With Colin Kaepernick

Historically, the flag has not stood for them.

By Rich MonettiPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by alex-martinez-43505-unsplash.jpg

Colin Kaepernick makes me proud to be an American, and as others kneel in, I swell in allegiance. I hope you allow me to explain.

One reason I can so easily overlook the sit down is my deep skepticism of patriotism. I attribute this to reading a lot of history.

The past is replete with powerful people acting barbarically in the attempt to exert control beyond their own borders. All countries are guilty, and American is far from innocent.

Patriotism has two sides.

Of course, you cannot wage war without a populace that is willing to engage. So a cause must stand in for the often duplicitous designs of those in charge. Patriotism provides a familiar vehicle, and leads me to conclude that it’s a far more negative force than positive.

But this doesn’t mean I don’t experience and mark its occurrence. One particular form happens as I go to work every day in a local after-school program. There’s an unmistakable pride and possibility exuded in the eyes of our many new immigrants that I cannot overlook. The light brings me back to what my grandfather must have felt as he struggled to complete his journey and make a better life for himself.

As for others, I know stories from parents and grandparents about WWII cause a justified swelling of its own, and so do blatant freedoms right before us. But this should not negate knowing more.

America’s shine comes off.

Growing up, I knew the divisiveness that still surrounded the Vietnam War as I entered college in the early 80s. Despite the war being the most important issue of our time, I had only superficial understanding. I actually considered it my duty as an American to learn what had happened.

You might say the exploration began my descent. Thus, the ease I can accept Kaepernick’s choice. No matter, if you call someone a traitor, make sure you are living up to the standards you insist upon.

Walk a mile in a man’s shoes.

A patriot would put himself in Kaepernick’s shoes and those he’s giving a voice to before reserving final judgment. I mean, there’s a tremendous amount at stake here, and it is a long historical stretch to say that African-Americans have been given equal footing by the criminal justice system.

You need look no farther than mass incarceration. White and Blacks use drugs at a similar rate but Blacks are far more likely to land in prison.

At the same time, if convictions were not returned in Ferguson and Baltimore, scathing abuse of power reports were. This certainly implies the possibility of a so-called smoking gun in regards to incidents such as those just mentioned. Nonetheless, is that enough justification for Kaepernick to set down?

The closest parallel was the black fisted salute by Tommi Smith and John Carlos at the 1968 Olympics. But while I wonder what side of history you would have been on, I admit that segregation is more easily defined and reviled.

I stand with Kaepernick.

The dialogue goes that police departments consist of good people who want to help their communities. Regardless, a mistake by a well-meaning police officer could result in the deaths of innocents. This includes the officer in question. Very few of us face such a demanding job requirement, and sorting out the complexity in court is not a job I’d want.

On the other hand, Eric Garner, Michael Brown, and Freddie Gray—one thing is certain. These communities exploded.

Might something be amiss? Given the ambiguity of any police shooting, I think clarity will always be a problem. But the racial history of this country should help circle you back and merit answers today.

Colin Kaepernick agrees. You would feel the same if just the kindling existed in your community. He’s taken a stand, and I stand with him.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Rich Monetti

I am, I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.