The Swamp logo

Healthcare and Democracy

How to Unite This

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’m an independent for one, so I’m playing both sides. But at the same time, I have to say that Republican’s attempt to hijack the Affordable Care Act will not succeed. The Supreme Court ruling upheld the Affordable Care Act in 2012. (Washington Post) We have a shot at deposing many in the 2018 midterm elections though, so all is not lost. According to Real Clear Politics, the battle for the Senate is 44 Democrats to 47 Republicans. The battle for the house is 201 Democrats and 191 Republicans. The battle for governor is 20 Democrats and 22 Republicans. At some point, the two-party system has to go.

When are minorities going to run for office to take over the Senate or the House? We need to depose the white people in office now. They are busy exercising their white privilege. Republican officials are trying to make the Affordable Care Act unconstitutional. There needs to be a ruling on this case, and that is actually good for those of us who support the Affordable Care Act until after the open enrollment period for 2019. Republicans love attacking health care because it plays into their voter majority who hate the Affordable Care Act as well as hate with a purple passion the mere existence of this scenario since they want to go on paying for health care as they have been brainwashed to believe in staunch capitalism. (Washington Post)

Healthcare run by the government isn’t so bad. What are you people afraid of? You clearly want those of us who are disabled or chronically ill to die of our illnesses, or at least that is what we get the impression that you want. Nothing stays the same forever. Universal healthcare is something other developed countries do except the United States. Why? I’m asking you people why you want to mess up a good thing like putting the pre-existing condition clause back into the health insurance market? Cobra was what covered me often during my childhood since my family played the sympathy card with employers, although I think the old man got fired a lot. As in, he fell victim to politics, perhaps was mean to people, and could not keep a job for long. What, pray tell, are unemployed people supposed to do? You Republicans need something else to worry about besides denying people health care coverage.

How silly is it to have health insurance something inextricably linked with employment? This is ridiculous but coming from my perpetually unemployed ideas, I have to say that I am still looking for a job that can give me benefits, a permanent job as I’m low-income on SSI. Cobra solved some of my problems while I was a child. As an adult, I’m hard-pressed to look for something that fits my level of experience. I’m trying here. Throw me a bone. Healthcare is a huge expense for me as I have type-1 diabetes.

You people feel the Affordable Care Act yanks your chain. Disability is a qualified covering event. If the person with the disability is no longer disabled, they are disqualified from COBRA. Yes, some of you may say, why don’t I move to the country of my ancestors where health care is free on both fronts, but hey, I’m staying put to fight the good fight and win it. This is why I stay in the United States. I feel my karma is bound to you guys. I feel a calling. The thing is, I stay put. I’m not going to run like my family did.

Works Cited

https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/legacy-files/ebsa/about-ebsa/our-activities/resource-center/faqs/cobra-continuation-health-coverage-consumer.pdf

https://realclearpolitics.com/elections/2018/

https://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/post-partisan/wp/2018/09/06/republicans-health-care-suicide-mission/?utm_term=.ec1af674c163

legislation
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.