The Swamp logo

Harry and Meghan

Back off Mate!

By Michael J. HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Prince Harry and Meghan Markle's

Why is it that we as humans are some infatuated with how someone else lives their life? I’m in that same boat.

We compare and compete and every once in a while, when someone is down in out, we try to step on their neck. It doesn’t matter what the person is going through, because we will try our best to justify our motives.

What problems do you have with Harry and Meghan? Are you related to them? Are you close friends?

If not… Then Back off Mate!

We can be so glued to their life that we forget to live our own.

On his Twitter Account, Piers Morgan wrote that,

“On Monday, I said I didn’t believe Meghan Markle in her Oprah interview. I’ve had time to reflect on this opinion, and I still don’t. If you did, OK. Freedom of speech is a hill I’m happy to die on. Thanks for all the love, and hate. I’m off to spend more time with my opinions.”

Did you catch that, he said his opinion. Some opinions can cause us to assume a bit to much or it can make us not believe something.

What I mean is this. Piers has this opinion and what if his hatred for the Harry and Meghan played a part in it? I’m just asking because it could be true.

And when she said that she experienced racism, suffered from suicidal thoughts, so forth; what gives us the right to say oh she’s lying. We can not know the truth behind what they are dealing with if we did not A. Experience it and B. Spent time with them getting to know them.

Also, a problem with society we are quick to shut someone’s cry for help down. If your family member was bullied, had suicidal thoughts and they told you would be like nah fam, you’re bluffing I do not believe you. Or would you find the root and help them out?

From the interview with Oprah based off of what I heard and saw, the Royal family and those around them did not help. On top of that, it does no justice for us, regular TV watchers to make assumptions.

If I was Harry and Meghan, I would be like take the Royal title from me. My identity is not in “people” because we all will DIE someday. My identity is in Christ and as a result I live for Him and Him alone.

Oddly enough we see this type of support for the accusers in many facets. If a pastor or well – known person does something, we blame the victim and praise the person on the hot seat. We don’t listen to the sob story. Yes, some people do have false claims, but it does not take anything for us to listen and comfort.

I think the real issues people are having with this is that the Royal Family is an IDOL to them. Just like that person I just talked about where you praise them even when they cause hurt to someone.

Let me tell you this. The Royal Family is not… The Royal Family was never perfect. They are not invincible. So, what if all that happened to Harry and Meghan is true, then what?

It further proves my point that the Royals are just regular people that made it to the top. But one day they will fall to the bottom and return to dust like the rest of us.

Prince Harry did a great thing for his family. He led with no regret and he stood and supported his wife. Men, we can learn from that. As people we can learn that not every that is Royal means that they are perfect. All of us have flaws and all of us can fall.

opinion
Like

About the Creator

Michael J. Harris

I'm a young inspiring author and youth leader. I hope that through my YouTube and my writings that I can inspire the youth to both do and be more. Building on a ministry of stepping into the youth lives and allowing them to be themselves.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.