The Swamp logo

Dear Donald, Enough with the Lies.

An open letter from a concerned American

By Taylor NixPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
5
Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

Dear President Trump,

As a young leader in my community, I know what it feels like to have people that look to you for guidance. Let me tell you, I know it can be a stressful thing. Any time someone is in a position to make decisions for a group, there are tons of external and internal pressures that can weigh on that person. I can only imagine the pressures of being the President of the United States, but thankfully I do not have that responsibility.

However, due to the fact that I am a leader in my own community, I feel a certain responsibility as an American citizen to hold our leadership accountable to the standard of the office they serve. While it is important that our representatives are honest with us when informing us of policy and that state of our society, it is even more imperative that our President embodies the same honesty.

My plea to you, Mr. President, is that you stop lying to the American public.

Everyone tells white lies, but the misinformation that you spread is dangerous. We have put up with your lies since before you were elected - from your claim about inheriting a dismantled economy, to your claim that Google manipulate millions of votes to aid Hillary in the election, to your claim that a United States Representative partied on the day of 9/11. I could make a list tens of pages long, detailing the countless non-truths you have communicated.

When you are the most powerful person in a society, your words carry more weight than anyone else's. There are people who take everything you say 100% literally, and with the words that you speak, you put millions of lives at stake. Especially with the COVID-19 pandemic.

I have been listening to the professionals, Mr. President, as you tell the public you have. But the claims you are making, do not hold up with the cold-hard facts. Just today, I heard you tell America that we have one of the lowest mortality rates in the world when it comes to the Coronavirus, which could not be further from the truth. As I am writing this letter and checking a COVID-19 case tracker, our great nation has suffered over 2,765 deaths just today. Twenty minutes ago, that number was 2,519. While you stand at your podium and spew lies, all in your hopes of re-opening our economy, we are losing over 2,000 souls daily in America. To put that in perspective, there were 2,977 American victims on September 11, 2001.

I could explain the dangers of re-opening the country too soon before the virus is contained, but I am sure you have been made aware by the professionals, as I have.

I am not here to point my finger and blame you for our troubles during the pandemic, as this is something that I think nobody expected. However, I am here to attempt to hold you accountable. You must be honest with the public. There are people around our country that are listening to you and believing the lies you are speaking. There are people protesting the stay-at-home order that YOU put in place, because you told them to "LIBERATE" their states.

There are people who are catching the virus, being admitted to the hospital, and telling their doctors that they didn't think the Coronavirus would make them so sick, because you said it was the common cold.

My own family members who are 50+ years old, are not abiding by the stay-at-home order, risking their lives because of the lies that you have told them. This infuriates me, watching them and other people I care about in my community and around the country completely disregard what the science is saying, because of you.

So, once again Mr. President, I beg you to be honest with us. Give us the truth. We want the facts. We need the facts. Our lives depend on them.

Sincerely,

A concerned American.

trump
5

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.