The Swamp logo

Dear Congress, From The People.

Act on COVID-19.

By Juan FaragherPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Luke Stackpoole on Unsplash

(I have sent this letter to my representatives in the US Congress, I have decided to post it here because I believe that the message goes beyond just my own representatives, but to everyone that represents our interests in government. I have changed some of the formatting for Vocal, but the message remains the same. If you agree with my message then please share it. We live in dark times, but that only means we must shine the light much brighter. Let your voice be heard. Let our voice be heard. // Namaste - Ju <3)

Dear Congressman/Congresswoman/Senator (or the staffer that will read this letter),

I am writing you today because you represent the American people.

You represent me, my friends, my family, and my neighbors. You represent every small business owner, every bus driver, every schoolteacher, every server, every dishwasher, every cook, every store clerk, every cleaning maid, every nanny, and every student. You represent everyone in this country. From undocumented immigrants to citizens. The decisions made at your level of government have a resounding impact on the lives of everyone that lives in this country.

I am writing you because our nation is in the middle of a crisis as you all are very much aware; the likes of which has the ability to change the very nature of our society.

But it isn’t only our nation. It is every nation. This is something that is affecting every human being on this planet. COVID-19 does not discriminate. It does not care about the color of your skin, your sexual orientation, your socioeconomic status, your nationality, your gender, or your job. As I am writing this letter, many states are announcing “stay-at-home” orders along with some cities. However, the rollout of these policies has been slow to say the least. As your citizens continue to read stories from across the world of national-level lockdowns, we are left wondering, “What is happening here?”.

I am writing you because this is personal to me.

I work at a restaurant. The only way I am able to pay my bills is through tips. I am 24 years old. Just last year, I graduated from the University of Houston with a bachelor’s in political science, which I could only afford by taking out student loans. I was told that if I work hard and “stay on the grind” so to speak, I will be able to achieve the American dream. What they don’t tell you about is the depression, anxiety, and sleepless nights that come with it. In recent months, I’ve learned that working isn’t everything. That life is meant to be lived and experienced. That my value is not based on how much I contribute to the economy. My own well-being is more important than any job, and by taking care of myself first I can do my job better. When people take care of themselves, they can do their job better. This virus has made many Americans fearful of going to work and of interacting with other people, which is why the US economy is slowing. There are so many more important things in this world than just work, and with COVID-19 encroaching on our lives many Americans are waking up to that fact.

I am writing you because I understand the process.

I fell in love with politics, but in recent months that love has died. I have grown frustrated with the lack of action. I have grown frustrated with the constant fighting. I have grown frustrated with constant partisanship. I have grown frustrated with the constant “trying to win” mentality.

I am writing you because this letter isn’t from just me.

This letter is from the countless Americans that won’t write letters, those of us that are focused on living through this crisis.

We are writing you because while you all bicker amongst yourselves, we lose time.

We lose lives. We lose. The people lose. Yet, you get your side the win. You get your policies included in a bill that will appease whatever special interests have funded you. So, maybe you win, but you’ve already lost. I don’t know when you all lost yourselves, but I am here to provide you a voice that says you can still come back to light, and actually help the people you represent; the people that “in theory” got you elected to office.

We are writing you because we don’t need a lengthy stimulus package to deal with COVID-19 filled with countless bills that most Americans won’t even bother to look through, which I am sure many of you are aware of.

We only need one. H.R. 897 proposed by Tulsi Gabbard. Emergency Universal Basic Income until COVID-19 no longer presents a public health emergency. Every citizen over the age of 18. I have been a supporter of UBI since last year when I heard about Andrew Yang; however, we are currently facing a crisis where UBI presents itself as the best solution. Put money directly in the hands of Americans, so that we can weather this crisis. It isn’t about businesses or trying to create incentives to keep people working. A virus doesn’t care. What good are businesses if people don’t have the money to spend because they can’t afford to pay rent? What good are businesses once we all get put on lockdown?

We are writing you because we were told to socially distance ourselves and to stay home from work if we are capable.

However, there are many Americans that can’t afford to stay home. There are many Americans that are two paychecks away from being homeless. There are many Americans whose entire job revolves around serving the people.

We are writing you because you need to think about the bill you are passing and whether it will actually provide people the relief they need, not businesses.

We haven’t even seen the full impact of what this virus will do to our nation. If you doubt the severity of this crisis, you need to understand that any effective, healthy, and tested vaccine is at least 1 year away. This crisis isn’t going away. It will continue, and our ineffective healthcare system will feel the brute force of this virus.

We are writing you because we are asking you to do your job.

Help the American people stay afloat. Help me stay afloat. Help my friends, help my family, help my neighbors. Your decisions affect our lives, now more than ever. Forget the pundits. Forget the approval ratings. Forget the elections. Act with your conscious. Act with your intuition. Act with God. Act with the Universe. Act with Love. Trust your gut, and ACT! Support Emergency UBI!

We are writing you because we will do our job.

We will help our friends, our families, and our neighbors. We will help the American people stay calm in storm. We will weather this storm. The only question remains is what our nation will look like after the storm. You can still decide.

Sending Love and Light in this Dark Time,

The People

congress
Like

About the Creator

Juan Faragher

Jew-in. 24.

finding purpose in everything i do.

follow me on instagram @juju_faragher for constant good vibes and drops of wisdom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.