The Swamp logo

Dear America- I Am Not Okay...

An open poetic letter about why I'm not okay in my country after 7-3 years. CW-depression, thoughts of suicide, anxiety, trauma, betrayed, surrounded by bigotry/fascism/sexism/racism

By Meghan LeVaughn Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
3
My self-expression after the MidTerm 2022

Dear America,

Also to my friends, family, classmates, mentors, acquaintances, and neighbors.

If you ‘still’ support Republicans...

I wish you all can understand what I am feeling & how I am feeling and why I am feeling right now.
But, PLEASE!
Whatever you do-
Do NOT criticize me.
Do NOT punish me.

Do NOT dismiss me and my feelings.

This NOT a ‘threat letter’ to you
I am NOT forcing you to do ‘this and that’

This is an open letter about what I am feeling deeply...

Inside and out...
I just want you to LISTEN!

Please...

Listen...

I can't be silenced anymore!

I can't be quiet anymore!

I can't be isolated anymore!

I have to stand up!

I have to speak up!

I have to be open!

I have to be honest!

But, just--- listen!

I Am NOT Okay!

I am serious!

And I am exhausted at the same time!

I Am NOT Okay for 7 years!

I Am NOT okay for 3 years!
It is NOT great at all!

I am NOT happy with where I was born and raised!

I am NOT happy with where I was coming from!

I am NOT happy with how I have been growing up there!
I am NOT happy how you didn't take it seriously the most important things including books, Black History, Hispanic Heritage pride, LGBTQ rights community, and women’s rights.

I am hurt!

I have been hurt more than I had before until the ‘true colors’ showed up.
Yes, really!

I felt betrayed, tired, lost, alienated, ghosted, silenced, and humiliated.

I Am NOT Okay with you refusing to stop Gun Violence for decades!
I Am NOT Okay while your accepted toxic masculinity!

I Am NOT Okay that you accepted these hate groups including White Supremacy!

It's ridiculous!
Why are you accepting more sexual predators, attackers, abusers, and rapists than the victims?

Why are you keep blaming the victims & shaming them more?

What would happen to your best friend? Your sister? Your niece? Your neighbor’s kids? Your best friends’ daughters? Your cousin? Your roommate? Your granddaughter?

Will you blaming them too?

I Am NOT Okay while you accepting more hate against any human beings who were unique, different, vulnerable, and colorful.
I Am NOT Okay that you accepted and passionate ‘white pride’!
I Am NOT Okay that you idolized and worshipped more billionaires and their pure greed.

I Am NOT Okay that you idolized the dictators!

Why did you accept greed?
Why did you accept the corruption?

Why are you keep scapegoating and shaming workers who work so hard on days without getting many paychecks? For being disabled? Not adequate enough?

Why are you keep scapegoating women, people with mental health issues, LGBTQ communities, disabled people, and people who were not shot to be blamed during the mass shooting instead of the guns?

Why are you keep be believe that ‘divided’ is better than ‘united together’?
Why you can not accepting us who we are? For being different?

Why?

Not ‘American’ enough?

Not ‘Rich’ enough?

Not ‘Man’ enough?

Not ‘Christian’ enough?

Not ‘White’ enough?

Not ‘Straight’ enough?

Why? Why is that?

Why did you believe compassion & love is worthless?

Why did you believe guns & hate make you strong?

Why?

Where's the compassion?

What about generosity?

What about charity?

You lost it! Because you accepted and choose hate, greed, & guns for good!

Did you know 17 to 206 Governors & Senators who were Republicans, from your home states, voted NO to----

  • -Services for pregnant and Postpwtum Veterans
  • -Early hearing det4ction and treatments
  • -Citizenship for Noncitizen US military
  • -School-based mental health services
  • -Providing reasonable accommodations for pregnant workers
  • -Child sex abuse investigations
  • -Protecting Marriage equality
  • -Oil and Gas price gouging
  • -Access to contraceptives
  • -Right to travel for abortion services
  • -Codify marriage equality
  • -Combating domestic terrorism
  • -Active shooter alert system
  • -Veterans benefit
  • -Ban untraceable ‘ghost’ guns
  • -Ban gun violence
  • -Gun violence legislation
  • -Respect for child survivors act
  • -Historic LGBTQ rights

Why do you always believe everything is the devil or a sin except the rapists, toxic masculinity, MAGA, guns, T****, D*******, A*****, wealthy billionaires, Fox News, forced impregnation, and forced childbirth?

Do you think that's what freedom is all about? against women's rights, and against all human rights including historic LGBTQ rights and Black History, to ban books more than guns?
The answer is NO-

NO!

It is sickening!

This IS NOT normal!

This is NOT America!

This is MADNESS!

This is FACICSM!

This is EXTREMISM!

Do you think that's okay?

NO!

This is NOT okay !

If you want our country to make it better & think about it before 2024...
Vote Democrat!
Yours Truly,
Meghan...

My current self-expression piece 2023

educationwomen in politicspoliticshumanityhistorydefenseactivism
3

About the Creator

Meghan LeVaughn

I'm Meghan. I’m almost 36. I always love to be creative and using my imagination since I was a little girl. I like stories & love to share my inspirations, journeys, etc.

www.twitter.com/MegsDreamDesign

www.instagram.com/meghansdreamdesigns

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • maisie about a year ago

    Wow. This was a beautiful way to express and educate... It was truly heart-wrenching to read and I could feel your anger (which I certainly share.) Great work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.