The Swamp logo

Congratulations

A Letter to the 45th "President" #DearDonald

By Madison PagePublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo of Donald Trump

To Donald Trump,

I would have normally used the prefix "Mr." or even started the salutation with "Dear;" however, I feel it unnecessary and inappropriate in this context, especially considering whom I'm addressing. On that note, I'll get to the point.

Congratulations. You have successfully invented a new and immeasurable type of stupidity, one so idiotic words could never come close to describing.

I also wish to bring to attention the fact that you completely tarnished American politics, not just by being elected, but for running for office in the first place. Another thing I would like to mention is how you have completely put to shame and disgraced the founding fathers of the United States of America. Have you absolutely no shame from disregarding the legacies of those who created the politics of the country in which you and many others call home? As Alexander Hamilton once said: “If we must have an enemy at the head of Government, let it be one whom we can oppose, and for whom we are not responsible, who will not involve our party in the disgrace of his foolish and bad measures.” I believe this quote is most appropriate to the political situation today, as it demonstrates the mistake made in having you in office.

The night you were elected in 2016, I went to bed at a point in which Hillary was winning the election. I went to bed hopeful, even certain to some extent that disaster would not strike during my sleep. Imagine what disappointment I felt when I woke up only to realize that I was at fault and that you had stolen the spot as president from a deserving candidate, one who had acted civil and professional during the whole candidacy.

On your campaign of "making America great again," I wanted to bring to attention that Hitler used a very similar slogan in his electoral campaign; it was that of "Make Germany Great Again." This strikes up some similarities that can be found between the two of you, for example, you are both opposed to differences between the two of you, you are both disrespectful towards women and are both anti-immigration, even though immigrants are very important to communities and many have accomplished far more than you ever will. This resemblance is very unfortunate and has made many angry. I would also like to say that the USA was already great, now you will have made it worse with your foolishness and unprofessional acts.

Finally, I want to mention that I will not be scared into silence. You can not scare me as I will not retreat from you, I have no reason to. I and many others can and will outsmart you if necessary. With our determination and power, we can win the battles we face. As Alexander Hamilton said: "Give all the power to the many, they will oppress the few. Give all the power to the few, they will oppress the many." We already have the power as a civilization, the power necessary to oppress you, and we can and will use that power.

I hope you're happy with what you've done.

Signed,

Madison Page

opinion
Like

About the Creator

Madison Page

A student, as well as a citizen wanting to influence through writing. I will often write about animal rights or other forms of activism, politics and law. For any inquiries, please contact me through email.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.