The Swamp logo

Before you vote(My Deepest Trauma in America)

A poetic story of me in the deepest trauma in America. CW-suicide, adult language, shame, trauma, sexism, toxicity, misogyny, ableism, surrounded by hate/fascism, betrayal, anxiety, depression, chaos, disconnection

By Meghan LeVaughn Published 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
3
Before you vote(My Deepest Trauma in America)
Photo by Patrick Hendry on Unsplash

Dear America,

friends, family, teachers, relatives, collages...

Before you vote–

Or anything–

THINK!

Please--THINK, ok….

If you know me- I have been in the deepest, deepest trauma in this country for over 6 years to 2 years…

It was the darkest, bleakest, traumatized, scariest in the record.

For years in this country,

I am just a simple white Cis female.

I am also Aromantic Pansexual-Asexual.

And I am also autistic with anxiety, depression, and PMDD.

I was born and raised in the southeastern states.

My family and I went from West Virginia to Tennessee to Kentucky to Mississippi.

During my lifetime, at school, at church–I do not understand these phrases:

‘You must go to church every Sunday’!

‘You must read the Bible everyday’!

“You must pray to God everyday!’

‘Only God can help you-not your doctors,etc’

‘You should not be gay’,

‘You can't listen the rock-it worships the devil’,

‘You will go to Hell if you're doing an abortion,’

‘If that boy is being rude/mean to you, because he likes you

“If you have mental health issues, that means you're possessed.’

‘Treat others the way you want to be treated’

“Only women can stay at home while their husbands work’!

“If you take drugs, you committed a sin’

And many, many more!

I'm still a child.

It is still difficult to understand what politics are and what religious life is.

I also had a hard time understanding each president during my school life.

I was completely confused and misunderstood.

What is it?

During that, it also gets to me from these restrictive religious rules and gender stigma.

Then, things got very odd during my twenties.

It was uncomfortable feeling that this isn’t me at all.

I was not very happy.

Finally, just like that— I quit!

And then...

The true colors appeared by the time I quit—-IT approached!

IT came!

IT showed up with its hatred soul and words.

My closed one's, my home, and my country betrayed me!

They began worshipped IT—as their god— the evil showed more and more with its pure intoxicated cult including sexism, xenophobia, homophobia, racism, bigotry, greed, ableism, misogyny—it turned very ugly.

I felt betrayed, angry, disgusted, alienated, outcast, and heartbroken.

My heart breaks!

IT destroyed my connections, my closed ones, my trusted one, friends and families...

Even now, things are getting serious!

IT’s followers became more like IT!

This isn't what our country should be!

I can't stand it anymore!

Things are getting way too far!

Why are they obsessed with guns and rifles?

Why are they obsessed with IT(Their ‘real’ God)?

Why are they accepted with the abusers and predators more than the victims?

Why people accept the hate against their races?

Why?

Why is that?

Why shame those innocent souls who were the survivors from mass shooting? Being raped or a abused?

I can't stand it anymore…

Is it ok that we can't learn anything from Science, art, and math anymore? NO!

When children and babies are carrying guns from their parents as their precious family photos? Was that cute? NO! It's NOT cute!

Should we be proud of it with hate, greed, violence, and rage? NO!

NO! I don't like this!

This isn't right!

Is that ok to shame or harass someone who was a disabled, a woman, not wealthy, not white, not straight, not ‘perfect’ enough, not Christain/Catholic, or not really human enough? NO!

Is it ok to control and force women, young and old, to impregnate & birth without their support, their rights, etc? NO! No, It's NOT! This is abuse!

Is that ok that America and God want women to be chosen even if they had been raped or incest? NO! It's NOT!

Is that ok that pronouns including ours should not be exist? NO!

Is this what being a ‘proud American’ is all about? NO!

Is it what being a ‘proud Christian’ is all about? NO!

Should I accept this? NO! I don't like this!

I do NOT like this!!

Should I deal with it? And move on?

NO! NO! NO! NO! NO!

This is DANGEROUS!

Please listen!

And NO!

Just take it seriously!

Think about your best friend, your sister, your grand-daughter, your niece, your daughter, your wife, your aunt, your mother---

Think about someone whose been close to you and still caring about all people--

Just THINK about it! Ok?!

THINK about what happened after the midterms in 2022!

THINK about it before voting!

THINK about it before 2024!

I will vote blue to save all womens’ rights.

I will vote blue to save all children and their education.

I will vote blue to save all of the human rights.

I will vote blue to save our country, our lives, and our future.

I hope you will too...

By Gerhard Reus on Unsplash

activismcongresseducationhumanitysupreme courtvotingwomen in politics
3

About the Creator

Meghan LeVaughn

I'm Meghan. I’m almost 36. I always love to be creative and using my imagination since I was a little girl. I like stories & love to share my inspirations, journeys, etc.

www.twitter.com/MegsDreamDesign

www.instagram.com/meghansdreamdesigns

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Amen to this! This was very powerful and needed to be said!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Love your message. Everyone think they know God and what he wants. He just want us to love one another and have compassion. It’s true what you say in your poem , find the truth before you accept something in life. Thanks for sharing ♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.