The Swamp logo

An Alternative Universe

The political landscape of Donkeys and Elephants.

By Regina WatsonPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

The world of politics as we know it today is bizarre. I never thought I would see the day when so many people don't care about truth, justice, equality, honor, integrity or the Constitution.

Our current leader is biased, he has no integrity, he lies and he is an embarrassment to the entire world. On November 8th, I watched as the entire country stepped into the twilight zone. After everything Trump had done during the campaign, after the world hearing about his "Cat grabbing", after he insulted blacks, women, minorities, disabled individuals, the military, the FBI, war hero's, world leaders, the media, Judges, etc. a certain group of people still voted him into office.

I truly thought this country was better than that, I was wrong. There were people who were willing to overlook all of that in order to say the black guy is out after 8 years now, we are putting in a racist, homophobic, sexist, narcissist, with ties to white supremacy groups.

On November 9th, when I awakened and realized it wasn't a dream, I felt angry and betrayed. This man had actually shown the world what he stood for and what his plans for the country were. I felt like every white friend, co-worker, and acquaintance I came in contact with had just thrown my entire race under the bus. I felt as if every good thought I had about them meant I had been bamboozled. The white wool had been pulled over my eyes and on that day it had been removed.

It was like the guilt was all over their faces, the guilt of I'm telling you I won't vote for him and he is appalling, but when I get into the voting booth I will vote for him and you will never know. It hurt like catching your spouse or significant other cheating.

I know I wasn't the only one who felt betrayed, it was like doomsday and it was my birthday. It seemed that everything we were taught about this country was a lie and all the hate and racism reared its ugly head. I don't blame Trump for everything, the hate was lying dormant inside some people and he just made it seem as if it was okay.

I know there are still decent Americans and I have to stand on that fact and I have to have faith that this too shall pass. I don't know what the outcome of all of the Russian collusion will be but I do know we as human beings need to realize that we need to come together as one, as one America..one that is strong, decisive, unified humanitarians who love what this country once stood for. We cannot make it in the world the way we are going. It shows our weakness to the rest of the world where we were once leaders and respected.

I have since restored my faith in humanity and I know that there will always be racist, hate mongers who have no good purpose for those who are different from them. I know one thing for sure, if you believe in God you have to believe that he created each and every one of us. He made us different for a reason, I mean even a rainbow is made of different colors that have to coexist in order to be a rainbow. It wouldn't be a rainbow if it consisted of only one color right? Well, that is what he wanted for us as human beings we have to coexist in this world, not in hate but in love, humility, acceptance, compassion, integrity, and unity!

God Bless America!

controversieshumanitypoliticianspresidentvoting
Like

About the Creator

Regina Watson

Freelance writer who voices my own opinion on topics that interest and affect the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.