The Swamp logo

A New Era Begins

This is not just the dawn of a new presidency, but the revival of who we are as a people!!

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
My overlooking the construction on Kimball Terrance in Norfolk.

Greetings My Friends;

Please forgive; sometimes I find myself projecting my opinions on other, this I know is a flaw I must correct. However, this one time, I feel my projecting is justified. I think it is safe to say, this has been one of the wildest weeks ever.

The main point of thought has been the 2020 election. Now before, anyone goes with “FAKE NEWS”, Biden hasn’t won yet, well at lease he hasn’t before I published this piece, but he has for the first time in electoral history, drew more than 70 million souls to the polls. We also know, because of this massive turnout, the current president of these states united has begun mounting a sea of lawsuits, which he hopes to use as a last stand against his loosing power. This roller coaster ride we’ve been on has been treacherous, but to me also a learning opportunity. For instance, we as a people, not just inside the boundaries of these states united, but the human race are civically uninformed.

Many in our society have spoke of a food desert. This is when communities find themselves more than one mile away from fresh food sources. The mission of those who champion this cause is to make certain no community is forced to travel outside their homeland just to find food. If I may, I would like to add an addendum. What if we in concert with the realization of food deserts being a problem, recognize information deserts are as well.

This is why over the next two months, my goal is to work to organize a series of Civic classes. These classes will do everything from breaking down laws, understanding the political process, working through who our elected officials are, and how to properly move the needle towards lasting progression.

January 2021, we will launch this series, beginning first with a section called Biden 100. This will focus intensely on the first 100 days of the next administration, which at this moment of my writing looks like it will connected to President Joe Biden. We will look at cabinet picks, direction, and formatting of policy, and most importantly how we can remain active in the process.

I believe over the next four years we as a nation will go through a moment of rebuilding both economically, and socially. This present us with an obligation to capitalize. We have at our disposal some of the greatest tools ever to do anything we need to do. The power of the internet by way of twitter, instagram, TikTok, podcasts, etc grants us the stage to make the case for our individual and communal advancement.

It is my hope that when we come to the end of this next presidency, we as a people will be both more informed, and more activated. The days of our living with being disenfranchised, disengaged, and dissatisfied has come to an end. No longer must we settle for the democratic scraps, or the societal backseat. This is thanks in part to the work, the struggle, and dare I add the sacrifices of persons like Malcom X, Throughgood Marshall, Dr Martin Luther King, recently John Lewis, along with many more.

The time has come for we as a people, more personal to me, as a person of color to truly understand who I am, why I was created, and how to activate my mission statement. I am convinced, without doubt, this world looks so much brighter when we all get together. The moment we approach this planet, this life, not as dependents, but as those with undisputed dominion; then I say will be the moment, our hearts will thaw, and our dreams will transition into common place realities.

I look forward to taking this journey with you. And most importantly of all, I look forward to growing both as a person, and as a community.

Until Next Time, From Me and Mine, Unto You AND yours

LATTERZ‼️

❤️➖EDB

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.