The Swamp logo

9/11/01 Personal Tribute

In remembrance of my brother, my hero...

By Lisa LawrencePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3

I have numerous tattoos but the two that have the most meaning for me are on my forearms. They are in remembrance of my brother, one of the firefighters who lost his life on 9/11/01. I don't talk often of this event in my life, but in order to write this properly, I have to, so here we go.

I was active duty Navy, stationed onboard a ship in Norfolk VA, when 9/11 happened. All ships, including mine, was immediately sent out to sea when the attacked happened. Being from NY, of course I was concerned about my family, especially my sister who worked in the vicinity of the towers. Communication was shut down for us though and I had no way of getting in touch with anyone at home. I also knew that being active duty military, I had a job to focus on, and that was protecting my country. I had to put my concern and worry for my family to the side and focus on my job. I did so for three weeks.

When I was finally able to call home and get through to someone, I found out my sister was safe! She had went to vote that morning and therefore was late arriving to work and missed the attacks. I then found out though that my brother was missing. He was a firefighter for Ladder 118 in Brooklyn Heights and was just getting off duty when the attacks happened. As expected, all firefighters were called back to respond and assist in the attack response. Scott was in the first tower when it fell. They had not found his body when I received the news. I didn't know what to do. I let my chain of command know what I knew. The Captain of my ship was very supportive and told me that he knew the chaplain that was on scene at the towers and would ask him to keep an ear and eye out for if and when they found my brother. I knew I couldn't do anything by going home so I stayed onboard my ship and just waited for any update.

At the end of October 2001, I received word that my brother was found. Though I'm not certain, but it sounds like he was at the bottom of the towers helping people get out as quickly as possible. He never considered himself a hero in his profession, but I certainly do. And it was because of him and the attacks that took his life that made me go back to school and get my Masters Degree in Homeland Security and Emergency Management, as I want to make sure that I do all I can do ensure that nothing like 9/11 ever happens again on our homeland.

As a side note, I was raised Catholic and though I am not a practicing Catholic per say, I do believe in the concept that God gives a life to replace a life he takes...and I later found out that I was pregnant with my first son and that he was most likely conceived on 9/10/01, the day before my brother died on 9/11/01. I DO believe in coincidences.

I always knew I wanted to get a tattoo to remember my brother and that horrific day. For the past 19 years, I have worn a metal bracelet that commemorates the 343 FDNY firefighters that died that day, but it took me many years to figure out what tattoo I wanted. In 2018, I finally decided on the tattoos I got. On one forearm, a tattoo that says "Never Forget" with the towers in the middle of the words and on my other forearm, "IX XI (9/11 in Roman Numerals)". It took me many years to decide that I didn't want to just remember my brother, but ALL the heroes that lost their lives that day. My brother lived up to his legacy in protecting and serving those in his community until his last breath; I only hope I can do the same in my career and ensure that an attack like 9/11/01 never happens again on our soil.

history
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.