The Swamp logo

2020

what have we come to?

By JPWrites.2Published 4 years ago 6 min read
1

Today I write words I will never forget.

Today I am more angry with the human race than ever before. Today I feel infuriated. Today I call out every single person this reaches, government officials, law enforcement, workers, front lines, parents, and yes even young people.

Today we live in history. Tomorrow we will live out history. And in the future more history will be written.

It’s the year 2020, surrounded by technology, advancing workforces, brilliant minds. 2020 will be remembered for nearly starting WW3, a global health crisis named COVID 19, George Floyd, Lockdown, riots…. The year that the world stopped in its tracks.

First of all let me ask you something… Are you proud of the human race today?

I’m not. In fact I’m disgusted. Now bear with me here. I’m sure you’ve come up with about a hundred reasons why what I just said is wrong or bad or horrible or racist or whatever.please bear with me for a moment.

I am 20 years old. I am a white female with indigenous bloodlines, I am also a victim of bullying. I have mental illness. I have physical illness. I grew up in a society filled by both such brilliance and such sadness. “Mental health awareness month”, “Sexual assault awareness week”, “Pink day against bullying”, “Black lives matter”, “LGBT rights matter”.... And these are only some of the headlines in my everyday life. Life before COVID.

Now my social media is flooded with hatred. The world I knew has changed in ways I cannot comprehend. If you know me, you know I stand up for the rights of others. I have fought for those rights, I have protested, I have worn pink, I have gone silent for the day in protest, I will speak up. It’s who I am. And today that remains.

So lets get to the point. I am no mother teresa. I am not God or a genius. I don’t speak for everybody in saying this, and I can’t speak for many. But I will say what I need to say.

I’ll do it a bit different though. I have questions for you.

What makes a gun a weapon? The gun or the holder?

What makes a rapist rape? The opportunity or their decision to do so?

What makes a bully? The label or the damage they do?

What makes a racist? The idea of it, or the person who aimlessly attacks a race?

What makes chaos? Covid? Or people?

What causes war? Peace? Hatred? One man? One woman?

What causes terrorism? Is it the racism behind it or the people who actually act on it?

What causes bloodshed? People don’t just bleed and die.

See what I’m saying yet? No, let me give you a few examples…

A young african american is killed by a police officer, who believes the young man had a weapon. The officer shot him four times. Did the gun kill the young man? Or did the hand that pulled the trigger? Did he die because of racism? OR because that ONE officer was a racist?

A young girl is raped in an alley by her complex, wearing a short sundress. Did her dress force the rapist to rape her? Or was she raped because the rapist CHOSE to rape her? Because of his choice to rape her, does that make all men bad?

A young caucasion man travels to a temple and shoots 18 people in their place of worship. Did the gun kill them? Or the man? Do the actions of ONE man define the beliefs and actions of all caucasian people? Or does the blame belong to the white supremist?

Do you get it now? Still no, I have a good one for you.

A complex very contagious virus infects one person, and within months has infected every country. People are told what to do to stop the spread. Lockdowns are put in place. Front line workers do their best to help keep the world going. Some people follow instruction and choose to part of the solution, where as some choose to be selfish and do as they please. The virus continues to spread and kills millions. Sounds familiar? It gets better. One countries president is so utterly stupid and fails to put in the work to lead his country to a solution. His country plays little to no role in the solution as a result. Some of his people try to be better though. And then a law enforcement officer, a white male suffocates an african american man on the streets in the USA. He lays his knee over the mans neck for nine minutes. As a result people, by the thousands, take to the streets rioting and looting, in protest that black lives matter. All lives matter they say. Some protest peacefully and share a powerful message of equality. Soon these protests go global.

The entire world finds itself in shambles. Is this because of whats actually going on, or is it because people are consciously choosing to cause more problems? Is the world being brought to its knees because of the virus? Or violence? Or hatred? If you can answer I would love to know.

Now before everybody comes for me saying I’m a bad person. Or maybe I’m racist or sexist? Or maybe I just have too many opinions… But I want to get one thing straight.

I carry no hatred for any race. Or gender. Or religion. Or anything else for that matter. Everybody has a different story, comes from a different place. Every single one of us is unique compared to the other, be it by race or sex or situation. I am definitely not one to judge. Or hate.

With that being said though, I am grossly bothered by the actions of my fellow world citizens.

Violence equates violence. Hate equates hate. The same way that love equates love. And peace equates peace.

Yes bad things happen. Yes we should protest when horrible unthinkable things happen.

The difference between being a part of the solution or being part of the problem comes down to a choice. Do you choose to riot in protest? Or do you shoes to peacefully protest with signs and speeches and campaigns? Do you choose to beat up the bad guy, or bring him to justice peacefully? Do you choose to rape? Do you choose to hate? Do you choose to bully? Do you choose to ignore the advice given during a crisis? Do you choose violence?

The way I see it, it comes down to one thing. A choice. Your choice. My choice. This isn;t about labels, or races, or genders or anything else. This is about choices.

I watch the news, I use social media. I follow politics. I am also very lucky. I do fall into categories of stigma. I do fall into categories of oppression. However I have never been victim to that. Because of that I do not believe I can speak on behalf of all stories and sides.

With that being true, I can speak to what I believe humanity is responsible for.

I believe humanity is responsible for hatred. And I believe that the hatred fostered equates to bloodshed, and chaos and more hatred.

I don’t recognize the world I”m living in. I don’t recognize my world anymore.

What kind of world are living in here? Where people destroy homes and businesses as some form of protesting? Where people just don’t give a fuck about others? Where we hoard toilet paper? Where we price gauge on essential goods? Where criminals run a muck? Where everybody is acting entitled or selfish?

This comes down to people. What you choose to be. What you choose to do. So please choose wisely.

Let’s choose to be better. To be good. To be wise.

This is 2020. History is being made and repeated. Today I am disappointed. Today I beg everybody to choose wisely.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

JPWrites.2

Hey everyone! just a small town author here writing a bit of everything.

Feel free to email me ideas or just check out my socials!

[email protected]

Insta @Jpwrites.2

Share, follow, enjoy! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.