The Chain logo

Crypto dollar dad

A rags to riches story

By Andrew morrowPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

March, 2020

I am George P. Sullivan, Senior Financial Analyst for Gray Harbor financial. Over the years I have met all kinds of people and I hear all of their stories. Today I am here to write about one of my favorites. I am adding this journal entry prior to my involvement with this client and I only intend to reenact real life events in my own words, I hope you enjoy!

This story starts with a young long haired man named AJ Monroe, a great, great, great relative of Marylin Monroe.. I first met him at a gathering where he explained a new venture he became invested in a few years back called crypto currency… I had no idea what it was and I wanted to know more, so I scheduled a meeting for later that month and gave him my card, because he was leaving town that next morning. A few weeks later he shows up at my office and we start talking about the future of the American dollar and all these things including stocks, as well as how the crypto currencies operate like currency and stocks combined. He explained further that this crypto money is all digital and doesn’t require any physical persons to regulate it so in theory it could be more efficient, (which today we know that it isn’t efficient at all , but I digress). It all sounded pretty skeptical to me from an IRS and it SEC stand point, and there was no way to use them back then either, so I didn’t buy any.. I wish I did. Everybody had heard of these crypto dollars but didn’t understand them back in 2012. He purchased somewhere around 150 of the bitcrypt coin, when they were worth five cents and sat on them. He offered to give me a few but I ultimately didn’t take any. I went on to manage his books and analyze some other components of his portfolios but I never received a dime of compensation In crypto dollars. I I knew a lot about AJ like I do most of my clients, but AJ would always tell you more than you should know I guess and I just felt like he was one of my closer clients. I might have also assumed a fatherly role for him as well. There was one time that he started to tear up when talking about his father. He couldn’t ever connect with the guy and when he didn’t go to college he basically wrote his son off, Then you add the layer of skepticism that this crypto money brings to the table and his father just didn’t want anything to do with him. AJ always wanted to get his fathers approval and he was a successful kid but one thing his parents never realized was how dedicated he was to continuing their legacy and honoring their path. His mother – a successful artist, fluent in mural paintings and all kinds of realistic acrylic canvas work, absolutely brilliant with a paintbrush. I have one of her paintings hanging in my den. AJ’s father a semi successful business owner who worked his hands to the bone and only wanted to pass his business on to his son. I will say one thing about sons and their fathers, the son just never wants to follow that close to his fathers foot steps, I don’t know why or what it is exactly, but they just never do. AJ owned his own businesses, each one of them nothing like his fathers, but still wildly successful. AJ was always carrying a small black booklet with him, full of his earnings and ledgers which I never understood because it’s the 21st century and we have laptops, I did ultimately compile it digitally into a file to help manage for him and he had anywhere from 5 to 10 projects at one time, all making decent money. Like I said he wanted to continue his parents legacy and become a manifestation of both of their legacies combined into one. It was an interesting idea, I had never heard of anything like it before.. almost like a guiding light for what he might be good at and if he himself was a combination of his parents and they were living their lives the best way they could, then using their career as an example could be a sure fire way to be successful and he was right. One of his very first companies accomplished his goal pretty well and it was a clothing company, in his mind it was a safe bet “people always need clothes” he would say. It was a good idea because he took the business side of retail and combined it with an evolved form of digital artwork Called graphic design. His company was called Fittif international and it went public in 2008 and his parents never even knew it was his company, he never told his parents, I guess he wanted to wait for the right time, I don’t know. He had other great ventures like vintageshaveclub.com and he wrote some books. AJ always had a snappy car with all the best modifications, supplied directly by his car parts catalog. I enjoyed hanging out with him, he was a cool guy. I talk about him like he has gone and passed away and thats because he has. AJ died this month unexpectedly, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, at least that’s how they ruled the death, fluid in the lungs. Now to get past the worst part of the story only to make our way to the best part. Like any story worth writing, there are ups and downs, but the end will leave you happy knowing that a sons father was made proud. The days leading up to his passing, he was talking to me over the phone while in quarantine and he explained that it was time to tell his parents about what he was working on. We started to coordinate a way to hand off everything to his dad because he was starting to feel the effects of the glass lungs and other symptoms of the corona virus. He wanted to have a plan in place so I then coordinated with his lawyer and we came up with a plan to sell off all of the companies and domain names associated with his businesses, some of them worth millions, just based on unique visits alone. Once all of that was in place we acquired the little black book from his safety deposit box and he wanted me to be the one to tell his father if anything were to Happen. He wanted me to personally hand the black book to his dad and me knowing the extent to which the black book contained an empire, I knew it couldn’t be in better hands. A few days after AJ was pronounced deceased, his lawyer and I made a visit to his fathers business, now devastated and empty from the virus, We presented the little black book to him and gave him the grim news that his son had been taken by the virus. His father looked at us with a stern look and you could tell that he couldn’t quite let himself feel the pain right away. The sad look of wasted time pinned to his gaze, I am a father to two boys and I can’t imagine the feeling of losing either one of my sons. We gave him a moment before presenting other forms and documents for him to sign all of his sons belongings and bank accounts over to him. He just held the black book and asked for my help to understand what it all meant. We began to tell him that his son was a very wealthy young man and he should be very proud. Included was a document hand written by his son explaining what he wanted his father to know about how he secured his purpose and his parents legacy, His father began to cry. We sat there for hours going through paper work and documents depicting the massive scope of the riches that his father would inherit and he just couldn’t believe it. He went from a small town business owner to a multi millionaire and didn’t even know he would ever receive it. It changed his life forever and still to this day you can see a webpage dedicated to his sons accomplishments and how proud he was of his son. As I’m sitting here writing today March, 2020 AJ’s 150 bitcrypt coin is worth 7,500,000 dollars alone sitting at $50,000 per coin. He never even got to spend one of them.

bitcoin
Like

About the Creator

Andrew morrow

content provider

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.