Styled logo

Yeezy = Unfashion

Why, apparently you don't need classical education in fashion if you want to 'design' nude tights. Or, you know, to be an expert at anything, for that matter...

By Maura DudasPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

While a lot of artists have been branded by the concept of misunderstood genius, I doubt that Kanye is one of them.

Don't get me wrong — I love fashion. But this isn't it. I am also all for innovation. Again, not how I imagine it.

The way I see it the design is simply nothing special. I, as one does, kinda expect more for the amount of money he charges for a single pair of unremarkable sneakers than 'nothing special'.

The first collection I saw was the one in Four Freedoms Park on Roosevelt Island. The models a forest of nude soldiers, clad in nylon or baggy pants that looked too comfy to be outside in. That was season 4 of the bland wall-paper colour sample ranging from cream to dove-grey. Pieces ranged from skin tights skirts paired with bras to baggy sweater dresses. All this in ordinary well tried out cuts and lines.

Most designers have a concept in thought for each season or explore more topics and prints and colour schemes throughout a year. You can barely distinguish the Season 1 Collection from the other later ones.

designers
Like

About the Creator

Maura Dudas

Studying Psychology, getting angry about issues on the web, addressing social conundrums concerning humans that surround me. And just pointing out my subjective majestic opinion. :) Film buff, artsy, reader - I do art too @morcika96

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.