Styled logo

The Refinery

A Guide to Being a Dapper Gentlemen

By Sian SinghPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Welcome.

All too often I've heard the phrases "because these are comfortable" or "this is what people in my job always wear." Nonsense! Men's fashion can sometimes be a taboo subject, and I honestly don't think it should be. Welcome to The Refinery blog series, fellow readers!

The Power of Dressing up—A Personal Experience

Just a few years ago, I may have been in the same boat as a lot of men. A lazy morning, a messy cupboard, and some sloppy sweatpants and hoodies thrown on with no real care on how fitted they were or how they presented me as a person! Then I started my degree as an architect. This changed my whole world; my unprofessional look gave away ideologies that I was not prepared to tackle formal tasks or was not professional enough to deal with client situations. I knew something had to change! That is where my journey started. Three years on from that harrowing day, my life has changed for the better thanks to upping my fashion game.

So, why am I writing a blog series? Well, for one, I've just fallen in love with fashion, dressing up, and the array of personality portrayal it gives me. It 100 percent increases confidence, too. But mainly because men's fashion doesn't seem as open as it should be! You don't have to be a fortune 500 CEO to look good! Trust me on this!

I believe with a few simple steps and some curated information on what steps to take (AHEM this blog series), we can turn a drab man into a dapper man.

Aim

So let's get the ball rolling, eh? My first stop when I was relearning my fashion was an amazing site called The Idle Man. The site has an amazing article section with extensive tips on how to use their own brand to style you up, as well as grooming tips. Now, onto this blog series! Every week, I will be posting tips on how to dress it up a little! Just so you can be the most amazing version of yourself. This is just the beginning of something great!

Music

Raleigh Ritchie time in a tree.

What is life without a little discovery, too? Every blog post will have a song recommendation. Let's give these artists some time, and hey, who knows? They may be your next favorite thing you listen to in the weeks ahead.

Now this is truly an amazing song. Deciphering the music video was quite hard hitting. It shows a journey of the artist's life through a sequence of shots within an elevator! Oh, and also! You may know him as Grey Worm from Game of Thrones!

Until next week you dapper gentleman.

Cheers~

men
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.