Styled logo

The Quarantine Forced Me To Take My Outfit Apart

The art of deconstruction to reconstruct

By Kharisma SommersPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

When I am left alone with my thoughts creative ideas start to emerge. There's a reason that I am a jewelry designer. But that's not where my creativity ends.

My mind is like a series of disconnected tunnels that are looking to connect. In each tunnel, there's a stack of images and ideas that I stored for later. When my vision sees something interesting it may trigger the mole in my brain to dig for and connect the ideas I had stored in those tunnels.

Lately, it's been on designing my own wardrobe. I'm not a very typical girl, but according to my husband, one thing that is stereotypical about me is that I love shopping too much.

You bet I have a collection of questionable clothing that I bought on a whim that later I second-guessed myself. Like my idea tunnels, I stored them for later.

Something happened during the lockdown...

It was March 2020. I kept seeing an ad for an online dance website that provides tutorials from world-renowned choreographers. Intrigued, I joined the free trial. Physical exertion has been one of my interests too.

To my surprise, I enjoyed dancing too much. As soon as the free trial ended, I purchased the yearly subscription. Who knew dancing was so much fun? I learned so many new things from great dancers in the US.

What's next? I shared my dance videos on their Facebook group for peer feedback. Getting better and getting bolder, my wardrobe needs an update! Although I am a self-proclaimed fashionista, I had very few items in my wardrobe that looked cool enough for dancing hip hop!

When I shopped my focus shifted, "Can this be used for dancing?" It was the lockdown, where else am I gonna go?

Online shopping was not enough.

I had a thirst for uniqueness. I'm an advocate for authenticity and personal style. Mass-produced garments are great and all but I want something better, something that nobody else has.

Snip! I saw the light! I dug through my less-than-stellar purchases and my brain worked extra hard to connect the tunnels. My mom taught me how to sew when I was a kid but I didn't take much interest in it. I never learned to make my own patterns.

BUT! I'm a master of modification and I never back down from challenges! I knew some of the basics and the rest was just a matter of figuring things out.

Snip Snip! Sewing machine here I come!

My first project was to turn the black long sleeve shirt that had a PU leather panel on the neck and shoulder area into something new. It always fit me a little weird anyway. A few cuts later with my trusted Fiskars fabric scissors, I turned that uncomfortable shirt into a cute crop top with a hoodie. All the materials came from that shirt.

Next, an army green parka from Forever21 made it onto my butcher table. I cut the torso in half, added a drawstring at the bottom, and shredded the long sleeves. They made a tangled mess in the washing machine with the raw edges and loose threads. Oops. But no worries, I sew straight lines alongside the perimeter of the shredded sleeves to stop the raw edges from pulling out any further.

Watch the video, don't they make the cutest curls? I won a dance challenge with this top on. Score!

Those Capri jeans that kept pulling down on me? Now distressed shorts.

Next in line, two of the skinny jeans and jeggings that I no longer wear. A multicolored checkered pair of stretchy pants from Princess Vera Wang line and a purple pair of jeggings from Mudd. Hip hop dancing has a lot of level play and it's more comfortable to wear looser pants. The colors match, why not combine these two pants into one?

I think these pants are my best creation to date. And they have pockets! What I most proud of is the fact that I flipped the purple pant legs upside down to make the flare legs where the pockets are hidden. I used 90-95% of the materials to make it happen. Almost none wasted. I even repurposed the back pockets of the purple jeggings to balance out the design.

I used the lockdown to improve my well-being. Dancing made me happy. Creating made me happy. My house may be a mess but my mental health is rising. Give me a pair of scissors and a room to create and I'm a happy girl!

designers
1

About the Creator

Kharisma Sommers

Jewelry artist, dancer, avid crafter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.