Styled logo

The Birth of #Iintend2survive

The pain of poverty teaches me not to keep opportunities waiting. I use innovative tools such as creativity and innovation to improve my life. It took me to #Iintend2survive.

By Annelise Lords Published 2 years ago 3 min read
4
Image by Annelise Lords

I was born and raised on a beautiful tropical island. Poverty and wealth always have their say. Wealth speaks. Destitution listens. Violence has a voice, too, and it speaks louder and more often than peace. Our murder rate is one of the highest in a country without neighbors, and we are not at war. Last year the news say our murder rate was competiting with the divorce rate. Lol

Our underdevelopment and violence are ordinary and accepted by many Jamaicans.

Not I.

Growing up with hunger and being deprived of the basics, I loathe poverty. I despised the inhumane treatment of the poor and how they are dealt with without regard, care, or feelings.

Poverty aids in my country’s economic failure and the suffering of many children. Poverty denies us of opportunities many take for granted. That’s where many of my life lessons begin.

Water issues: I have had no water for three days. That is normal.

I learn to plan. A backup plan is always in place. And I have a backup plan for my backup plan. My home is never without water. I often see persons walking around with empty bottles, hunting water. Jamaica has been experiencing water woes for years. Many people don’t plan.

Last night a transformer burst, and I was without electricity for several hours. This, too, is normal and a daily occurrence for us. Ice is always in my refrigerator to keep my frozen foods from spoiling.

(I have plans for solar power in the future.)

Food prices increase daily, taking meals out of the hands of the poor as many children go to bed hungry. Not much is done to control the price increase of many things.

We pay the highest electricity bill in the Caribbean.

The minimum wage is Jamaican $7000.00 weekly — almost USD$50.

These are a few of the trials I face in my country, and there is a lot I have overcome. My survival intention has saved me many times.

It’s easy for poverty to thrive. Therefore, some plants, humans, and animals must fight to survive.

(P.S with water woes, the plants pray for rain more than humans). Lol

The hopelessness and unpredictability of my country’s economy taught me always to plan, take nothing for granted and give balance its due. My brain found innovative ways to positively counteract everything life throws my way and adapt to life changes #Iintend2survive no matter what.

My survival intentions increased my awareness, grew my instincts, forced me to learn and use common sense in all areas of my life. I must think economically and save something, no matter how little. The pain of poverty teaches me not to keep opportunities waiting. I use innovative tools such as creativity to improve my life.

It took me to #Iintend2survive.

I must survive because there are many people out there that I am destined to help that I haven’t met yet.

Lol. I am a bit nutty.

While walking, I noticed many plants growing out of rocks. Look closely at this T-shirt. It’s grass growing out of a crack in the sidewalk. The grass is trampled on, and it’s fed only when it rains. That’s you and I fighting to survive.

These designs with #Iintend2survive are plants growing from rocks and other places where their survival is a threat. Many of them survived. #Iintend2survive and so should you.

P.S. The t-shirts with the rocks and hashtags are exceptions to the rule.

Find innovative and unique ways to live and survive while adding something positive to your life and the lives of everyone you know.

Keep telling yourself that #Umustsurvive!

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoy it. https://www.pinterest.com/anneliselords/pins/

designers
4

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    You go, Girl! Awesome piece and gear. You are an inspiration! 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.