Styled logo

Save For Later

A shopping tip for you

By Patricia L. LoganPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Jan Antonin Kolar on Unsplash

Introduction

I love to shop. It does not matter if it is window shopping; I want or need it. I love making a decision and choosing what I want or need. It is fun, but I am also in charge of what goes in my home and world.

So, what is this tip you have for me?

Wait, patience, my humble student. I will get to the tip in a moment. First, I want to explain some rules.

1) This may save you money. It should, but I do not know your budget, nor should I.

2) The key to this tip is getting what you need if you need it. More on that rule later.

The tip is to shop as you normally would online, and when it is time to checkout to purchase, hold off making that wanted item, re-evaluate the item in the cart, and either pay or put the item in your “save for later” cart. You can hold items in your cart if you have an account with that website. I have been known to hold items in the cart for about a month, racking up to $2,000 (USD) or more. I have not tried the tip without having an account.

Next, at a later time, or the next time you go to that store’s website and log into your account, check your cart first. You may have forgotten that you put the item into your cart; you can review it to see if you still want to order that item now.

For instance, In my current Amazon cart, I currently have five items in there. They are:

1) Unbreakable 3-pack screen protector

2) Lined Sticky notes 4” x 6”-Rainbow

3) Lined Sticky Notes 6” x 8”-Rainbow

4) Sticky Notes 3” x 3” cube-Black

5) Waterproof Sticker Paper, White Matte

The reason for me to order these items is the first item is for my Iphone 13. Since I purchased it last November, I have not had a screen protector for it. A screen protector is to protect from scratches and spills that may hurt the components on the inside. So it is important for the phone. My only question is about the price. Can I get a cheaper but more effective brand?

For the sticky notes (4” x6” and 6” x 8” rainbow notes and 3” x 3” sticky note cube), do I need this many pads? Chances are that I can save the 4” x 6” and 3” x 3” sticky pads for later.

For the last one, the waterproof sticker paper-Matte is for making stickers with my printer and Cricut cutting machine. I already have sticker paper that is matted (non-glossy), and it came in a 100-sheet container. I have not started stocking my Etsy shop with stickers, only printables for customers, so I can wait. I can get them quickly with Amazon having two-day or overnight shipping for Prime members.

My total cart price is $76.36 (USD) before shipping and taxes, but do I need to spend more than I need to? If I still want this item, say the 4” x 6” sticky note pad, I can look under the “review my cart items” to find the “Save for later” button, and place it there. You do not have to look it up next time. Go to your “save for later” cart (I have over 200 items there😂) and replace the item you want back into your checkout cart. Walmart, Target, and Amazon have that option. You can also place the item in your wish list option. (I have 20 wishlists for Amazon alone).

What is this tip for?

This tip is to teach you not to make impulse purchases. Impulse buying causes a person to have less money for the things and events where money is needed the most, including utility and mortgage payments. Impulse buying also causes clutter in the home, car, or office.

Why do people impulse buy?

I could think of one reason impulse buying is on the rise, YouTube videos. YouTube videos are not the only ones. Think about it for a minute. A YouTuber, AKA an influencer, creates a video that tells you what they bought in a shopping haul, what and how they made something in a crafting or DIY tutorial, or some wonderful place they vacationed.

This practice is not new. Television commercials used to do the same thing as radio before television. It is a matter of what media will convince you to buy something new. social media does the same thing.

I am not pointing any fingers at anyone because I am guilty of being both the influencer and the influenced. I love a good haul or a “Shop with Me” video, and I have one or two “Shop with Me” or “look what I bought” haul videos on my YouTube channel. I am a certified Prime member with items currently in my Amazon cart and can quickly tell you the best planner to buy at the moment (which is the Erin Condren Life Planner ❤)

What does this tip prove?

By delaying your purchases, you not only prevent impulse buying and FOMO (Fear of missing out), but you have room for the things you truly love and need. I am not saying that you do not need 50 signs for your home. You may be trying to earn extra income for a vacation or a car payment. I do not know your life. The same with any situation. This tip is for people who impulse buy a lot and then wonder why they do not have any money. This was my situation at one time (especially during the Pangaea). I would get bored, and even though I had a job to do, I still would pull out my debit card and spend like I had nothing to lose.

This is not a new tip, but it is one that I discovered during the lockdown, and I felt better for using the tip. I also point this tip out to you in case inflation is getting to you. It helps you find money, and it also helps you to put things into perspective.

Give this virtual shopping cart tip a try. I am glad to share the tip with you.

shopping
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.