Styled logo

Quarantine Trends

So 2020 Challenge

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Quarantine Trends
Photo by Hannah Morgan on Unsplash

2020 was one of the weirdest years I’ve ever had. Sometimes it was amazing and sometimes horrible and the rest of it was downright bizarre. It felt like I had been warped into another dystopian universe. The birth of a new decade has created many fashion trends, some for the better and some are almost as grizzly as the virus itself.

YES! Eldery Couples Dancing

This is honestly heartwarming. You can tell between the two of them there is strong chemistry. They love each other now as they did when they were younger. The dancing is great too. Just shows that social media should be for everybody and not just for the young people.

PLEASE STOP! Weird Challenges on TikTok

Why would you do this? Licking toilet seats and mocking the virus is just an insult to all the key workers and to the ones that lost loved ones during the pandemic. Stupid and dangerous “challenges” should be banned. Some of them aren’t even real challenges they’re just being gross for the sake of being gross. Like the #peeyourselfchallenge: what are you twelve? That’s not a challenge...

YES! Excerise at home

A lot of us are missing the gym and also finding it hard to get our daily excerise at home so these videos and gyms offering workouts from home are a real boost to our health. It’s really helped me overcome my boredom when I had to isolate.

PLEASE STOP! Influencers begging for free stuff

I can’t believe people were doing this in the first place. Maybe it works for big corporations but not for small local businesses who are already struggling. I think it’s rude, inconsiderate and selfish that ‘influencers’ ask for extravagant freebies with no consideration for the workers. Just pay for your stuff.

Yes! Trench Coats

They’ve been around for donkeys years. Every prosperious fictional detective wears one. I had a pink one but I’ve never been able to find it since moving to my flat. I love them, they’re warm, practical and comfy all year round.

Please Stop! Designer Facemasks

The concept of face masks being designer is just bizzare. It may be clever to make profit out of a sticky situation, but it’s still morally strange how people will spend so much on a face mask when you can get a bundle for a fraction of the price. As long as they’re comfy and fit for purpose I don’t care what my face mask looks like.

Yes! Polka Dots

Polka Dots are always a win for me. It’s simole and effective and always great for any occasion. I’ve got two black dresses with white polka dots and I love the. They feel so comfy and stylish. I also love the artwork of Yayoi Kusama, who uses polka dots in a lot of her work.

Please Stop! Glamorising Anorexia & Obesity

I am all for body positivity. I think it’s fantastic that things like the Paralympics exists. Pe I think people are abusing the body positivity movement by glamorising obesity and anorexia. As beautiful as these women are, obesity and anorexia will never be healthy. They’re both as bad as each other and promote body shaming which is detrimental to mental health.

Yes! Going Green

By Harrison Moore on Unsplash

Going green has always been trendy. I think it’s about time world leaders pulled their heads out of their arses and took climate change seriously. It is real and banning plastic straws is not enough. Much more needs to be done about recycling, and food waste. A lot of single-use items could be used more than once with the exception of clinical waste. For example the plastic bottles you get with your drinks, they’re not as pretty as the refillable cups, but they’re just as practical for cold drinks.

Please Stop! Excessive Tagging

By Amrit Sangar on Unsplash

Crochet dresses look weird to me, but if it’s something you like you should go for it. There’s a lot of online challenges that I’ve been tagged into but I never followed including selfie challenges and the ice bucket challenge. Wattpad users sometimes make their own book awards, graphic shops and review services. Sometimes they‘re required to tag x amount of people for exposure. It dosen’t work for me, I find it annoying and I will ignore it. Unless it’s for a competition or giveaway that you think would interest me, don’t tag me in anything.

trends
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.