Styled logo

Nineties Fashion Is The Style

The fashion trends we see really came from the nineties!

By Tanya RoyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Nineties Fashion Is The Style
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Do you believe that I grew up at the time when " Punky Brewster" was being watched throughout the world. She seemed to wear whatever she wanted and didn't care about what others thought. I really related to her and enjoyed dressing up just like her. It was Punky Brewster that sparked my interest in fashion. To actually follow her lead and wear the pigtails and tie a bandana around my leg felt great. Everyone would watch me and think I was such a dork, but I didn't care

When I had the attention of others on my hair and clothes it began a guessing game of what I would wear next. At one point I had others following my lead and wearing items similar to mine. This was when the era started for the fashion of the 90's. And that's when I learned my most about being able to master fashion. a started a

As a child fashion and style became my my main focus as I became fascinated with all the different trends. At one point I began taking materials such as old sheets and clothes to sew new things to wear. It became such a desire of mine to be dressed always my best. My fashion statements at times would be way out of the norm which could cause unwanted attention.

With every new product it seemed that I could learn new and exciting fads that could be my chance of becoming the best fashion designer ever. My imagination and desire drove me to be driven into a state of complete contentment and satisfaction with following my dream. Although in time I got distracted and followed other visions and paths which never really let me feel complete. No matter what I decided to do I have always dressed well.

The most interesting fact that is clear to me is that when it comes to fashion the 90's top the charts. I grew up during the years that had the most remarkable impact on the fashion world. There have been many new items and designs throughout the years that were here today gone tomorrow trends. About 30 years ago the fashion trend that continues to this day is the "grunge fashion" from the 90's.

Think about it really this grunge fashion has always lasted through the years we just see it being modernized now. For the individuals who are now starting to wear these products it seems like its a new trend that just came out. It is so awesome to actually see the clothing I enjoyed as a child being worn by so many. throughout my life I have always been very determined and dedicated at being the best dressed. My passion has always been toward style and trends in the fashion world.

As a child fashion and style became my my main focus as I became fascinated with all the different trends. At one point I began taking materials such as old sheets and clothes to sew new things to wear. It became such a desire of mine to be dressed always my best.

There have been many times recently I have been shopping for clothes and got so excited to see items from my childhood being bought. It tickled me and made me smile inside and out. It made me feel like I actually did have style even on my wort days. If I would have been a little more sure of my fashion as well as confidence back then I probably would have been more driven to follow my dreams. You see I always desired to be a fashion designer that kept the nineties styles always around.

Now its fascinating to watch the teens wearing overalls and crop tops with combat boots. My all time favorite outfit was the knee high socks with the slip on sandal shoes and a short skirt or short shorts and a crop top. Don't forget that it all had to match perfectly. If you had red shirt the socks had to be same color and shoes needed to match too. Also the scrunchies or bandanas with half -up half-d own hair or a bun. I also wore that brown lip liner around my lips with red lipstick. That lipstick and liner makes me laugh now! LOL!

The nineties fashion to me is the best fashion years ever. If you look back you can see that some of the best dressed came from the nineties. The nineties are the peek years of the grunge fashion that now is still being worn today. I guess you can now call the modern grunge fashion "THE GRUNGED". Just saying! So, when you find yourself wearing Chokers, heeled or steel toed boots, straight legged jeans , converse shoes, those huge hoop earrings, flannel shirts and overalls just know they came from the 90's. Enjoy and love the style and fashion trends becoming THE GRUNGED!

trends
2

About the Creator

Tanya Roy

My name is Tanya Roy and I am 37 years old. I have always been into writing about everything. I find comfort and enjoyment in just being able to write when I feel like it. I am very creative and imaginative. At other times facts are my life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.