Styled logo

Love what you do

Embrace Creativity !

By Monica CummingsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Creating for hard to fit sizes

My passion is sewing and creating. I was born at 10lbs 13oz and have been a thick, or fat person all my life. It wasn’t until I started to embrace that I was different and could dress differently if I just created my own wears. Plus I’m an athlete so super thick thighs and arms with a bust size of 44DDD. This has made everything extremely hard to fit or to buy.

I started to think that I cannot be the only person that has this problem. I have worked extremely hard to draft swimwear (my true passion) followed closely by handbags, that doesn’t allow things to either hang out or pop out. While it is sometimes difficult to find a pretty fabric in the store or something that doesn’t look like a tent or stripes going the wrong way, it is GLORIOUS to sit down and create my own. The smell of the fabric, the sewing machine oil, the feel of the cold hard steel in your hand as you cut, the taste of the thread as you put it into the needle. OOOOOHhhhhh it cannot be described unless you have experienced it.

Feeling that sturdy plastic handle or cold hard steel as I cut into that silky smooth fabric is one of the best feelings in life. I have a library of scissors, pinking shears, snips, trimmers, leather shears, knife edge, paper scissors, embroidery, vinyl and more. Having the proper tool for cutting is one of the most important things. It can make your project so much easier. Each colored handle means something different. So if you are new to my area, before you grab a pair of scissors, please read the board and understand what color you are about to use. I would hate to banish you from the sewing den due to poor choices lol.

Once, I’ve completed the seams, I pick up my small thread snippers and find even more joy in cleaning up the ends of seams. Although cutting the paper pattern is the worse LOL, but you must cut with the correct scissors otherwise there will be problems. Cutting into that beautifully outstretched fabric on my cutting table brings joy that some will never know. This is a very sad thought. I do my best to spread this joy to many, it is such a lost art

I began using the cold hard steel of scissors at the age of 6 (six). This ignited something in me that grows brighter and brighter with each cut of the fabric. I have mastered commercial sewing, including leather, knit wear sewing especially swimwear, crafting and using specialty scissors for trimming vinyl and embroidery threads. This is beyond a passion. If I could not be creative, I could not live and be happy on this earth.

I am also a teacher of sewing, I love to develop children and teach them to catch the bug. It is so cute to watch them with the guarded scissors and then when they move to “big people” scissors the gleam in their eyes says it all. Cut straight, cut straight.. No it’s the scissors fault, they cut crooked. I have never laughed so hard.

This is something that I have begun to offer to the public and looking to it make my retirement career. For those size 0’s on the bottom and 36 D on the top or 18 on the bottom and 26 on the top, you can pick and choose the sizes you need or want. You can look and feel pretty because it is made with you and your body type in mind. Now that body shaming is a real thing, helping people with hard to fit tops or bottoms is a very welcomed skill. With a little snip and tuck, a cut here and there, I can make most women feel like a million bucks. Seeing the smile on their face is sometimes all the payment needed.

Creating is a wonderful thing, not to mention a stress reliever a total high. If I could not sew, craft, create vinyl items, I would be a loss ball in tall grass. I can’t wait until tonight to get my craft on!!!

designers
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.