Styled logo

Let Your Clothes Do Your Talking, It Saves Time and Etiquette

As with all fashion, mood dictates what I wear

By Will HullPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A few of my handy pandemic fashion accessories / Photo by Author

I’ve finally found an upside to this ongoing pandemic. You know, besides the whole staying alive and survival thing. I don’t have to smile or talk to anyone.

One thing’s become abundantly clear to me in the past year, I’m antisocial. And I’m anti-government, regardless of who’s in charge. Helpful? No. Sensible? Possibly not. But it allows me to rant. Don’t misunderstand, I’m an easy-going guy and enjoy hanging out with friends and family in small groups, but I have a cynical, disgruntled, mocking side.

Some people don’t see the humour.

I’d always like to say it how it is or how I feel, but I was raised to be polite. Age is slowly tweaking that balance.

So in a pandemic lockdown where a mask is as routine as carrying my wallet and phone, I can enter the supermarket on my daily rebel adventure wearing a mask, beanie, and sunglasses and no one will expect me to shower them with common etiquette or even a smile and hello.

All the anti-social benefits AND I’m complying and doing the right thing.

Win win.

Think you recognise me? No, you don’t, keep moving. Encroach on my personal space at the deli counter? You can’t see my annoyed expression. You and your family of five need to block the entire fridge section just to pick which milk you’d all like? You’ll not see my mocking smile and seething rage from behind my pandemic fashion wear.

I’ve now found clothing accessories to do my talking for me. I can be kind or anti-social without breaking stride or having to stop and chit-chat. Want to leave your manners back at the house, you chin-strap wearing neanderthal? I’ve got a hat for that.

I can be kind and nice or tell you to steer clear. I can even tell the government - and anyone reading my clothing - what I think of their politics.

Now if only the metric world understood the distance of 200 feet. It's a lot more than the prescribed 1.5m (or 6 ft). For those curious souls, 200 feet equals approximately 61 meters.

Photos and collage by author

Just to show I’m not always a Negative Nancy, I do sometimes wear this scarf with the ILY side showing.

Turns out fashion can be art, and make a social or political statement. Finding a use for my hats and scarf beyond just wearing what I like has been an enjoyably revelation. Whether or not those around me take notice or connect the dots... that's all beside the point. In a pandemic world and the 'new normal', we all have to find our little ways to cope.

I'm going to start looking for more clothing that will do my talking for me. I'll be able to go out and not have to say a word. I can save that for my writing in solitary bliss and happiness.

Win. Win.

If you too would like a red scarf, or enjoy quirky, alternative Canadian music, go to www.theburninghell.com.

Note: The band has just finished a pandemic outbreak-shortened tour in Europe. Now's probably a great chance to grab a scarf and support the band.

If you’re looking for an FDNY ‘Keep Back’ hat, go to www.fdnyshop.com. Proceeds go to the NYC fire, police and port authority departments to help those families still suffering from 9/11.

Want a ‘Hello’ hat? You’ll have to get lucky at a Salvation Army store like I did.

Another Note: I have no affiliation with the band, The Burning Hell, nor the FDNY shop or any Salvation Army stores. I just believe in paying things forward now and then.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Will Hull

Yankee, Aussie, freelance (and whatever-inspires-me) writer. Happier.

Editor at Counter Arts, Rainbow Salad and Songstories on Medium.com. You can also find me at https://hullwb.medium.com and https://ko-fi.com/willhull.

Thanks for reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.