Styled logo

Hear My Chest, It's What I feel.

My Name Is Teisha LeShea, And I'm Addicted to Graphic Tees

By teisha lesheaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
17
BEYONCE NEFERTITI CONTACT CROP- shop.beyonce.com

If you're around me long enough, you will realize that my fashion is very simplistic. Leggings or sweats with a graphic tee. I get asked why I enjoy graphic tees so much, and my response has always been, "it's an extension of my personality." I love a good corny joke, a catch-phrase, or a simple shirt that expresses my black pride. As I sit back and go through my wardrobe, I must admit that I have a problem, and I need to add variety to my closet. I thought my desire for these shirts just meant that I'm a shy and socially awkward person. The science of being an introvert is easy. If I feel a sense of comfort around you, then I will open up, or if I don't feel a sense of comfort, then I will shut down and be an observer. For the past two years, I've been more intentional with my interaction with people.

Over the past year, I've noticed that my graphic tees have been a conversation starter. Some tees offer a chuckle, and other tees get asked where I purchased them from. I am a big fan of supporting black businesses, so most of my tees come from black entrepreneurs. Now don't get me wrong, I love a good graphic tee from Target and Walmart if you're on a budget. I've listed my top five favorite graphic tees and why I enjoy them.

funtie

[fuhn.tee]- noun the fun aunt. Like a mom, Only way cooler. See also Beautiful, Amazing

From Etsy $11.99

As a woman who currently doesn't have children, I find that my nieces are my proudest joy. I would always treat my girls like they're my own. If they need any backup, my nieces will never have to question that their aunts will always be supportive. Islah, my three-year-old, thinks I'm a human jungle gym; she is the niece that constantly uses my body for her imagination. Whether that be climbing up a ladder or using me as a human swing for some reason, I don't complain; I comply. I'm the aunt that teaches her new phrases and vocabulary. Her mother is constantly asking, "Who taught you that? Auntie Teisha?" the only thing I can do is laugh. Now she's at the age where she has her own slang. The teacher has now become the student, and now she's teaching me new vocabulary. Nylah, the six-month-old, is considered calm. If I need a hug and comfort, I can always rely on this little one to exchange hugs and kisses. Her fluffy cheeks, smile, and cocoa brown skin can light up any room.

Black Writer's Matter

From My Pride Apparel $35.99

These past two years have been exciting for me as a writer. From being a contributor for a popular blog to being an admin for my own Facebook Group Vocal Creators Saloon, I've taken my writing seriously, and I've reached an audience that I never knew would be interested in what I had to say. My DMs reflect positivity and display how so many women can relate to my story. Comments and likes drive me to do better and become a better writer. This shirt reminds me of the pioneering journalist who went against the grain to shed light on the stories that needed a voice, Ida B. Wells. Her story has always inspired me to not care about rules in regards to telling my story. This tee is a clear reflection of how I feel about writing.

Sage, Crystals, and Trap Music

Quartz & Rainbows $20.00

I've been intentional to seek a lot of personal and spiritual growth over the past two years, and I can attest that going to therapy and finding my spirituality has been the catalyst for that transition. It has been a huge transition and a learning curve that I still haven't mastered entirely, but I am still hopeful and intentional while on my journey. This tee explains what I'm currently going through. My Instagram feed advertises companies that sell sage and crystals, and who doesn't like trap music? For those of you who don't know what trap music is, according to Wikipedia, Trap Music is "Trap is a subgenre of hip hop music that originated in the Southern United States during the early 1990s." I wasn't born in the south, but I've always been a hip-hop fan, so this shirt fits. I love the shirt so much that I decided to purchase two. I'm on the verge of buying another shirt soon.

If God Didn't Send You, I'm Unavailable

Originally purchased through website God Is Dope. Shirt can also be found on Etsy $22.99

While on the topic of protecting one's energy, I feel like this shirt is so important. I discovered the company God Is Dope once again through Instagram. My first thought was, "how can a plan white tee cost $23?" but somehow, graphic tees have become a popular fashion trend, and consumers are willing to pay anything for a witty quote or saying. Wearing this shirt sets the tone for who I interact with and helps me weed out the bad energy. I get the most engagement while wearing this shirt. I don't see it as a religious shirt at all. I can easily replace God with my "My African Ancestors" or "My Guardian Angels," and the feel of the saying wouldn't change. For some odd reason, I tend to wear this shirt a lot at Starbucks. My curly hair steals the show at Starbucks most of the time, but this graphic tee comes a close second.

I Run On Coffee, Chaos & Cuss Words

Originally purchased through Shein. Shirt can also be found on Etsy $8.99

I've been an adult for some time now and my two favorite things are coffee and cuss words. Depending on the day, I love to spice it up by using both at the same time. It also gives a time-lapse on how I start and end my days. It's equivalent to Tina Turner's "Rolling on The River" the day begins "nice and easy" with the coffee and ends rough with cuss words. Classy and sophisticated is my middle name, so most of these cuss words are in my head but are directed to others. They don't know it *insert evil laugh here*. It's all in fun and with any joke lies some truth. You can either laugh at the shirt or be disgusted with it, which means you would be the lucky person I cuss at for the day.

Well, those are some of my favorite graphic tee's part two of this list are already in the works.

My Latest

Click here to read more of my stories.

Happy Reading!

shopping
17

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.