Styled logo

For the Culture: Representation down to the Crocs

Thank you Culture Clips

By Azurai LynnePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Photo taken from Culture Clips Instagram @culture.clips

I recently found myself with the burning desire to finally buy a pair of Crocs. A shoe I had presumed was only for nurses. When they became popular, I figured everyone was wearing them because... everyone was wearing them. I had yet to appreciate the sporty comfort art of the Croc.

So, naturally, when I woke up one Friday morning and found my account stimulated by the government and my 9-5, the first thing I thought to purchase was Crocs.

With my new shoes in hand, I made another foolish presumption. I assumed buying the shoes didn't mean I needed to decorate them with those silly jibbitz. I convinced myself a respectable young adult would not decorate their shoe. Then on Instagram, the illustrious fashion and makeup blogger @aaliyahjay showed off her new crocs and jibbitz. Now, if she, a blogger my age with over a million followers, found them fashionable, then who was I to judge? It couldn't hurt to just take a look for a few tiny decorative clips. Especially if said clips would help me to express my personality to others via adornments on my shoe.

While perusing the internet, I didn't find anything I liked. Don't get me wrong jibbitz are super cute. The little taco and alien from Toy Story are to die for, but none of it was me. I wanted something to represent who I am daily, and nothing seemed to fit that aesthetic. Thankfully, my shopaholic sister sent me a link via my insta DMs to a company called Culture Clips. As soon as I opened their page, I fell in love.

There was a brown prince clip I could put on my shoe to represent my son. There was the classic "period" gif clip (sold out, of course) to express my no-nonsense attitude. There was the "wake pray slay" clip to bring that little bit of Jesus I need in my life.

IG @cluture.clips

The amount of excitement I felt on this page was unmatched—so many clips representing young black culture in all its many lives, from professional to silly. Not to mention, the clips are very affordable.

I immediately ordered any clips that weren't sold out. And I plan to order more, which means I inevitably will need another pair of crocs. Then, of course, I have to buy clips for my son, niece, and mother. Which again will lead to the purchasing of more crocs.

Let me tell you. I don't regret a thing. BEST PURCHASE EVER!

This shopping experience made up for all the times I couldn't find my name or any name similar on a necklace at Claire's. The little girl in me is screaming.

Since the emergence of the Black Lives Matter movement, especially in recent years, we have seen a significant push for more representation. People of color often don't see themselves represented in media. We (people of color) constantly consume media that primarily features the majority race in America. We've consumed so much for so long, I don't think it even occurs to most people that they deserve to see themselves represented.

Only those who have lived a life of exclusion will genuinely resonate with what I am saying. To see me, a young black woman, represented in something as simple as a clip to put on my shoe means the world.

When the new style of Crocs drops, you need to treat yourself to some culture clips. Even if you are not a person of color, there are still many trendy clips you can shop for.

And if you are a person of color, girl. This buy right here is for the culture.

Thank you Culture Clips!

footwear

About the Creator

Azurai Lynne

I am a creator looking to share my creations, so stay a while and enjoy!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Azurai LynneWritten by Azurai Lynne

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.