Styled logo

Fashion Nova: An Honest Review

Not sponsored, although I wish it were...

By Amanda MitchellPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4

Yes, I caved, but it isn’t my fault! They. Wore. Me. Down. I have never seen a company with a more consistent marketing team. Everywhere I look there is an advertisement! My email. Text messages. Instagram. Tiktok. YouTube. Celebrity endorsements. Pop-up ads. They are relentless!

I’m talking of course about clothing empire, Fashion Nova. Fashion Nova has been a major fashion company since maybe 2016. I first remember seeing the now viral Cardi B interview where she endorses that company saying, “ It is really the only thing that fits my body.” Next I started seeing the man, the myth, the legend, Kylie ‘Lip Kit’ Jenner herself, posting photos of herself in Fashion Nova apparel on her Instagram.

6.5 million likes

Let me really explain the genius of Fashion Nova’s marketing team. After somehow amassing a following of close to 20 millions followers on Instagram, they tell people that if you want to get on their feed, buy their clothes. They will scour through millions of posts a day, in which they are tag with either #novababe or @fashionnova, until they find a few from well followed Instagram models. Then, they will then post the photo of these models on their page and tag them in it, virtually using it them as free marketing and stimulating demand for their clothes. Honestly, whoever is head of marketing for that company needs a serious raise. I applaud you.

So, after being thoroughly worn down, I decided to check out their website. They have thousands upon thousands of fashion forward clothes, ranging from 'basic lunge wear' to 'oh my goodness, do people really wear that in public'. I decided I wanted to try one of everything so I picked out a few dresses', some shirts and some of the now famous, Fashion Nova jeans. Categorically, I have formed an opinion on the business after my experience and I would like to share it with you, beginning to end.

The Website

Everything is always on some kind of sale

Upon opening the Fashion Nova webpage, you will immediately see any and all sales that are currently being offered, making the site extremely easy to navigate. You can look for clothes by choosing what category you're interested in, via search bar, or even their Instagram page.

The down sides that I found are fairly minimum. The website does tend to take a while to load during a high volume sale, like 50% off or Black Friday. Also, if you add items to your cart then exit the webpage, your cart will not be saved; forcing you to start all over again. I highly advise that you stay clear of the Fashion Nova app. It is very slow, often has popup ads, and will drain your battery.

Rating: 7/10

The Cost

One of the biggest selling points for the company is that they offer trendy clothing for a very low cost. This, I have found, to be 100% true. Nothing that I have purchased from this company has ever seemed overpriced. With that said, I only bought clothing that was 40% off. They are not the highest quality clothing, but they make it possible to keep up to date on the ever changing world of fashion, without breaking the bank.

Rating- 10/10

Shipping

Best. Day. Ever.

Fashion Nova seems to be a well oiled machine when it comes to shipping. I’m under the impression that the majority of their warehouses are on the west coast, and seeing as I am on the east coast I had expected it to take roughly 10 business days. They were able to deliver my order, without error or damaged product, within 7 business days. All the while, they sent texts and emails updating and hyping me up for my delivery day. Oh and shipping is free after $75.

Rating- 10/10

Clothing

Ladies and gentleman, this is the moment you've waited for. Just so you have an idea of my size, I am 5’10”,weigh 155 pounds, have an hourglass figure and am considered large chested. I prefer my clothing to be form fitting, wrinkle resistant, and stretchy. Of the few dresses that I got, I have loved every single one. I tend to be a small in most dresses, but since it was online I decided to size up and go for a medium on all of them. This proved to be a very good decision because the dresses run very short.

Black dress- $12.00, Red dress- $9.98, Grey dress- $24.99

Reminder, I am the height of a giraffe, but I ordered midi dresses and they land well above my knees. Still, I love and wear all three of these dresses as often as I can. The short nature of the clothes seemed to be a recurring theme, seeing as all the shirts that I purchased are basically crop tops. This is an issue I have a lot with clothes so it doesn't really phase me anymore. I'm happy enough with anything ordered online that fits well enough to wear in public.

Shirt is part of a set- $17.99

My most anticipated purchase was of course the jeans. I got them in black, grey and print, all in a size 5. These jeans are actually miracle works. They give off the perfect silhouette, emphasize curves and are as comfortable as leggings.

Jeans- $10.98

I mean seriously! Fashion Nova Jeans don't play around. Only down size; they are too short. Reminder: giraffe. I’m not surprised that they are too short on me but, I am disappointed that they give off the impression that I am preparing for an inevitable flood. Regardless, they are my ride or die jeans now and I’m never looking back.

Rating- 8/10

Recommendations:

  • Only buy the clothes when they are on sale, meaning 30% off or more.
  • If it looks like it might not fit, it will not fit.
  • Search the height of the models. Most are 5’6” or under so if you are taller only buy clothing that is on a model of your height.

My final thoughts? You get what you pay for. Did everything fit like perfectly? No. Did I think a 10 dollar pair of jeans would? Gosh, no! I'm very happy with my purchase and would shop there again.

Rating- 9/10

Hey guys, thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this story, maybe let me know by sending a like. Tips are appreciated as well! Happy shopping!

shopping
4

About the Creator

Amanda Mitchell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.