Wheel logo

Challenger Club

Having a Dodge Challenger is like have a free ticket to an exclusive club of car lovers.

By Amanda MitchellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
My favorite photo of my car

In January of 2020, I signed a lease on a 2020 Dodge Challenger GT AWD. Prior to my current car, I had been driving a Mazda 3, and although it was a reliable car, it just wasn’t what I wanted. I ended my Mazda lease a few months early and signed for my Dodge. I couldn’t wait to drive my car everywhere but the world had other plans. My state shut down less than two months into my lease and, by the time I had the for six months, I barely had 3,000 miles on her. Still it is a decision that I would make a thousand times over again.

I was twenty at the time of my Dodge lease, and since I live with my parents while working a full time job, I had some extra money saved up. You might think to say to yourself,” Well that was an irresponsible financial decision,” and to that I would have to say,” Yes. Yes it was.” Fortunately, I had the luxury to be irresponsible for a few more years, and to ‘sow my wild oats’ I want to drive a muscle car while I’m young and can afford it. I want the ‘cool car’ now because I don’t know when I'll have the chance again. To quote Abraham Lincoln,

"Good things come to those who wait,

but only what's left from those who hustle!"

The two biggest factors that contributed to my decision to lease a muscle car, was that I wanted a car with all wheel drive for the snow, and that it had to look like the Batmobile. I found the perfect combination of the two in the Dodge Challenger.

Although the car insurance is practically highway robbery, and filling the tank costs a pretty penny, my baby has proven to be well worth it. She gets monthly car washes, and I even treat her with the rainbow foam after a specifically harsh snowstorm, because I love her. She is as strong, high maintenance, and alluring as I am. ( Did you like how I slide in a compliment for myself?)

My baby and me.

I like a lot about my Challenger but, the thing I like the most, was something that I didn’t even know came with the car. Apparently, when you have a ‘specialty car’ you get a free admissions ticket to an exclusive club made of people who drive your same car.

Have you ever heard of the ‘Jeep Wave’? When a Jeep Wrangler drives by another Wrangler, they exchange a wave of acknowledgment because of the car they drive. I didn’t know it at the time of my lease, but Challenger drivers do this as well. People become so excited to meet like minded drivers that I have even exchanged social media accounts with fellow drivers while at a red light, (We were parked. It was safe, I promise).

There is nothing like driving with the windows down, blaring rock music and spotting another Challenger on the other side of the intersection. Whether it be a flash of the high beams, a friendly honk, or just a thumbs up out the window, the feeling of being a member of this exclusive club is honestly addictive.

My lease isn’t up for a few more years, but even when it is, I am hopeful that I’ll continue to be part of the Dodge family for decades to come. In my experience, they are sturdy and dependable vehicles, as well as stylish. I am a proud member for the Dodge Challenger community and I excitedly await to see what they have in store for the future years.

Hey guys, thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this story, maybe let me know by sending a like. Tips are appreciated as well! Be safe and happy driving!

feature
1

About the Creator

Amanda Mitchell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.