Styled logo

Fashion Looks from the '70s: The Most Influential Decade for Style

Love, Peace, & Fashion

By Monique WillPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
5
Fashion Looks from the '70s: The Most Influential Decade for Style
Photo by Mike Von on Unsplash

In the last decade, fast fashion has completely taken over the retail industry, with companies like H&M and Fashion Nova being dominant players. The convenience and affordability have consumers hooked, but in the process, we’ve developed a herd-like mentality when it comes to style.

That’s why I appreciate and am inspired by 1970s fashion. From hippie to disco to boho-chic, the trend was really to follow your own trend. Individuality and personal expression were valued. Vogue declared “There are no rules in the fashion game now. You’re playing it and you make up the game as you go.”

Style was also influenced by activism, as evidenced by the Black Pride movement that was aimed at rejecting mainstream beauty standard and reclaiming their heritage. The fight for the Equal Rights Amendment also opened the doors for women to feel liberated in their fashion choices. Celebrities such as Donna Summer (pictured below), the “Queen of Disco”, helped push the envelope when ideas around women embracing their sexuality were still evolving.

I’m a Millennial, so unfortunately, I don’t have personal memories of this magical time. I do however, live vicariously through my parents, and soak in the family photos and stories any chance I get.

From mixing and matching patterns, to the oh so beloved bell bottoms, take a look at some of the fashion looks of an iconic decade.

Big Hair

The bigger the hair, the harder they stare! I love, love, love big hair. When the movie Foxy Brown was released in 1974 and Pam Grier hit the screen in her big, beautiful afro, no one could deny her unrelenting confidence and sexiness. Farrah Fawcett also sported a big and bouncy feathered hairstyle when she made her debut on the TV series Charlie’s Angels. Big hair made a statement and it said, “I’m here, get used to it."

Jumpsuits

I strongly believe every woman should own a good jumpsuit. When it’s done right, it hugs your figure in all the right places and is such a classic look. Jumpsuits are perfect for any season. Accents like a wide belt, ruffled sleeves, and cutout back (as pictured in the photo above) add the perfect touch of femininity.

Bell Bottoms

Bell bottoms are my absolute favorite fashion look from the ‘70s and to this day I still prefer a great pair of bell bottom jeans over a pair of skinny jeans. Bell bottoms were traditionally designed as part of a sailor’s clothing, but I’m so glad they became apart of our everyday fashion. I also love that the style was embraced by both men and women, which is a win for everyone.

Bonus: here’s a picture of my very own dad sporting a pair of bell bottoms. I strive to be as hip as him.

My dad in the middle and my aunts circa 1977

Prints & Patterns

Something I’ve never really experimented with, mostly out of fear of looking ridiculous, is wearing prints and patterns. If you wear horizontal stripes it makes you look wider, if you wear polka dots you look like a grandma (no offense to grandmas). What I love about ‘70s fashion is that not only were people not afraid to wear different prints and patterns, but they even mixed two or more patterns in the same outfit! Flowers and stripes, polka dots and plaid. You name it, I assure you someone’s done it before and looked fabulous while doing it.

Platform Heels

Although platform heels have been around for literally centuries, their popularity is most notably linked to the ‘70s. They were the perfect complement to ultra-wide bell bottoms and if you were lacking in the height department (like me), they not only served as fashion, but for a functional purpose as well. I will take a good chunky platform heel over a stiletto any day. But that’s me.

Bold & Bright Colors

It’s hard not to crack a smile when looking at this 1971 magazine ad. Not just because they have big smiles on their faces, but the brightness of their garments also helps exude that happy energy. Color has a strong influence on our emotions and even how we perceive others. They help express our unique personalities. So the next time you reach for the same old pair of black pants and white t-shirt, take a page out of the ‘70s fashion playbook and have fun with color.

Everyday I hope and wish that we go back to the easy-going, fashion freedom time that was the '70s. Until that day comes, I'll keep doing my part to keep the funk alive.

In the infamous words of the late Don Cornelius, I wish you "Love, Peace, and Soul."

trends
5

About the Creator

Monique Will

Family over everything. Natural hair enthusiast. Writer. Lover of love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.